BMW Werkz banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Old Boy saying hello to everyone. I've been contemplating a Beamer for more than 5 years. No follow through but have read beyond numerous specs/reviews. Pretty much settled on older series 3 - E36 or E46. There was an older series 5 got my attention as well. That's me. So the ignorance Q - what's OBD?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Old Boy saying hello to everyone. I've been contemplating a Beamer for more than 5 years. No follow through but have read beyond numerous specs/reviews. Pretty much settled on older series 3 - E36 or E46. There was an older series 5 got my attention as well. That's me. So the ignorance Q - what's OBD?
On Board Diagnostic Port. Most cars {ALL} have had them since the late 90's I think.
Bimmers really use the Heck out of them on on most models. The newer the Car the more complex it can be. Bimmers (dealer and owners) can change settings and RESET Error Codes. But it does require an ODB Tool. New to the market are Blue Tooth ODB Plug that work with your phone. Cheap Plug In Models go for $25 (for a "shade tree" mechanic to $4,000 for a professional mechanic model. [You Tube Mechanic Hero "Scotty" has many free Videos.] {btw: Scotty HATES BMW's, but he can tell you what is bad and what is good!} 3's are the best 5's are the worst. Google the engine types by Model # to get the low down. I have had a Beemer Motorcycle; 2 325's; and on my second x-3. I loved both of my X-3's. My current 2012 325i has the "biggest" 6 [ N52 ] .
I really love this car! Luxury, economy, performance - all depends on your Lead foot.
Steer clear from the "newer" 4 cylinder Turbocharged. Watch "Scotty" and learn!
good luck!

·
Registered
2008 535i e60 n54 sapphire black metallic brown/black interior
3 Posts
On Board Diagnostic Port. Most cars {ALL} have had them since the late 90's I think.