BMW Werkz banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys.

im new to this forum and I need your help.
im new to this m3 game.
i have a nissan s12 drift car and now i need something nicer so thats why i want to buy e46.
but i dont know what to look for when buying a used m3.
do u guys have advice or tips......
i was thinkin of getting a convertable. but ive heard that the tops leak .......
thanks and the more feed back the better

· Premium Member
1,706 Posts
The convertible is also heavy and it takes away structural rigidity from the chassis. I prefer the coupe in terms of looks as well. First, if you can get one with full documentation (oil changes, repairs, etc.) you'll have a better idea of the condition of the car and whether it's been maintained or not. Also, you will want to look at cars newer than 2002. Earlier in the production cycle BMW built the S54 motor with non spec crank bearings. BMW put out a recall to rebuild the engines with the fault crank bearings but I'm sure there are still quite a few cars out there that are still ticking time bombs. Other than those two major things look for the overall condition of the car.

Also, if the car is in overall good shape (interior, exterior, engine bay) than I would consider purchasing the vehicle. Low mileage also helps as well. :D

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thankx for the advice......i just wanted the m3 convertable cuz i live in so cal and there are so many fine hunnys....im always at the beach.....
but i want to supercharge it so i dont know what im going to do

· Registered
650 Posts
You can get a hard top. I think they are better looking than the coupes.

· Registered
2,363 Posts