BMW Werkz banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, im wantin to get a jl 10" w3 with a jl audio 250/1 amp and i also want to get jl audio tr speakers cuz my speakers are blown, but my friends say i need to get another amp for my speakers or a bigger amp to run for my speakers and my sub, but can't i just run the speakers off the stock amp? cuz im on a 1000 dollar limit here, and i know nothin so what should i do.

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
i'm pretty new at this, but i think you can use a multi-channel amp to run everything. otherwise you would probably need a single channel amp for the sub and a 2-channel amp for the speakers. or you could run your new speakers off a head-unit but hu's dont have much rms power, chances are it will limit your speakers to 30-50% of their full power.

but if you have a stock amp, i dont see why you couldnt use it to power just your speakers.

·
Registered
52 Posts
You could use a multi channel amp yes and that would be the best thing. You could use JLs 500/5 (which has a 250/1 built in) or the new 6 channel JL eClass amp.
Look into those.
I am a car audio manager in Tampa, FL for a shop that is a JL dealer and has been since the day JL opened.

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by Black E36 M3@Aug 14 2003, 09:36 PM
You could use a multi channel amp yes and that would be the best thing. You could use JLs 500/5 (which has a 250/1 built in) or the new 6 channel JL eClass amp.
Yea i would do that but i only have $1000 to spend on the whole system, you're talkin about 1000 dollar amps. so any other advice?

·
Registered
52 Posts
That isn't really true, I will add up some stuff for you this weekend, how's that?

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
that'd be great, I actually can go up to $1100, but i would like it a lot if you helped cuz the guys at the stores are just tryin to make a sale, not help me.

·
Registered
52 Posts