BMW Werkz banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys been a while, but .. im pretty sure i made an account here but for some reason i couldn't log on. Oh well but hi well i just resurfaced my Heads on my '84 325e and port polished them mostly done at home, but i know as much as . hmmm what i read and see. I'm new to being mechanic and all but willing to learn, what i read was to actually get power for the 325e was to replace the headers with 325i headers but keep the 325e bottom crank, which sounds expensive maybe you guys can give me some opinions?. What i'm planning to do is get a cone filter and build a heat shield research an ECU and maybe even an exhaust system. Please i'm open for opinion, i'm a full time student with an avg budget but plenty of time so.....please all suggestions welcome

·
Registered
200 Posts
Two things will wake that car up.

Get a chip for the ECU, they are around $50 on E-Bay.

Get a gear ratio change for the differential.

You can use any of the following with a better ratio.

The ratio is on a tag on the aft face of the differential.

The OE 1984 eta was a 2.79 to 1.

I recommend 3.25 to 3.73 to 1.

You can use a differential from any of the following cars
e30-6, e28, e24, z3

Here is a link for reference as to the possibles.

http://www.bmwe30.net/cgi-bin/datacgi/data...0025&Section=03

Later,

·
Registered
108 Posts
carter's right... but i don't agree 100%...

first off, get a chip from turner motorsport, not an ebay chip... bunch of little reasons why i'd rather go to turner, bav auto, or some other tuner than ebay

second, i wouldn't go any higher than a 3.45lsd in the rear. any higher than that & you're really hurtin your gas milage more than you probably want for a street car.