BMW Werkz banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, everyone I'm new to BMW world, I just rebuilt the engine in a 325 I convertible I bought for my wife, It has been a fun and stressful at times project. Like my current issue, I just replaced the original temperature sending unit in the therm housing, I replaced it because the gauge was reading HOT at all times. So I figured the sending unit was bad so I bought the brown unit and the blue one and replaced them both,and it still goes right to HOT, the gauge is good, I checked it by grounding the wire, off and on to watch the gauge go cold to hot, worked fine, what dose anyone think of this ?

·
Registered
493 Posts
OK here..

So you rebuilt a BMW 2.5 litre engine by your own hand and are confused by a thermostat?.....you don't seem to know what that means...come on here

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Guys

YES I REBUILT THE ENGINE, and yes myself. and what the temp gauge is doing I have never seen before, I have read some other helpful treads and they tell me that their are batteries on the gauge pod that need to be replaced. Sorry guys this is my first BMW I have ever worked on, It runs great now but the temp sending unit was clearly giving me false reading. thanks for your interest

·
Premium Member
14,730 Posts
sled, you mind lightening up? Can maybe you (OP) try another sender or maybe have it tested at an auto parts store.

·
Ich bin der Modifikator
3,323 Posts
YES I REBUILT THE ENGINE, and yes myself. and what the temp gauge is doing I have never seen before, I have read some other helpful treads and they tell me that their are batteries on the gauge pod that need to be replaced. Sorry guys this is my first BMW I have ever worked on, It runs great now but the temp sending unit was clearly giving me false reading. thanks for your interest
Hey jjuken, I found this.....maybe it will help you. :)

erratic temp gauge E30 M3 - BMW CCA

jb :)

·
Registered
1 Posts