BMW Werkz banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Beamer newbie here looking to purchase my first one. I've driven Chevy's fords and Jeeps my whole life.

I have the opportunity to buy a 745i for a smoking deal of a price. The problem is that the gentleman that owns it says he ran it through some water and it won't roll over anymore. My first assumption would by a hydraulic lock. He is selling the car not running.

I am very mechanically inclined but, once again, have no experience with BMW's. How difficult is swapping a motor if there is internal damage? I am assuming that pulling the motor it comes out through the top since it is a RWD car (like every truck and American sports car I have owned.)

How susceptible are these motors to internal damage to hydro-locking? I know in the old jeeps and trucks we would submerge them, pull the plugs crank it over and spray some WD-40 in the holes and we were good to go after an oil change.

The problem: I have no idea the tendencies of these cars. I have looked online and only found a few hydro-lock stories.

I have also read that the motors in these cars are quite expensive to replace compared to other BMW motors (looking at remans online they are ~6k.)

I have built many engines in the past, SBC, SBF, BBC BBF and varios inline 6 motors for jeeps, like I said I feel I am fairly well versed when it comes to turning wrenches.

Is there anything that I should be aware of when looking at this car. However, I don't want to pull the plugs at this gentlemans place of residence and attempt to get it running before purchasing for obvious reasons. So, I guess that leads me to be in quite the pickle.

I would be getting the car for about 1/3 of the NADA book value on it. Car has 110k miles on it and comes with Asanti 22" wheels and is in mint condition.

Thoughts?

·
Help from over the pond
3,239 Posts