Seeking M5 Wisdom, A Newbie - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6)
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) General M-Series Discussion - If it does not fit into a more specific M Category above, please place it in here. In addition, previously archived M-Series discussion is located in this section.

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2004, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

Car:
Photos:
rojo412 is an unknown quantity at this point
Well, if you couldn't tell, I'm brand new here. In fact, I'm brand new to a lot of things about real cars, but I'll keep things brief.

I am fed up with driving crap. I have been doing it for years and I want out! The time has come to look for a real car and as far as I can tell, an M5 is it. I'm 24, so I think I should be driving a car that will make me say in 20 years, "Remember that M5 I had? Man, I wish I never got rid of it."

What I'd like to know is this (general info, for the most part):

1) Is this car as nice as it sounds, even nicer, or more of a hassle than I should take on? I know a good BMW guy who will be taking care of any maintainence and wouldn't BS me, but he hasn't told me much about the cars in general.

2) Were there overwhelming problems with the E34 M5 that I should know about?

3) What should I look for (good or bad) when I look at a prospective buy? Most of these cars that I have found are a bit of a distance away and my mechanic won't come with.

4) How many miles are too many on the engine and when do they require rebuilding or replacement? Along with that, what could I expect to pay to have an engine rebuilt or replaced?