Newbie - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) General M-Series Discussion - If it does not fit into a more specific M Category above, please place it in here. In addition, previously archived M-Series discussion is located in this section.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 10-19-2004, 06:36 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sfarooq is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey guys,

I am a newbie to this forum and I am in the process of looking for an e36 M3. My optimum color of choice is artic silver, but black and other base colors might work, depending upon the vehicle. I have several questions and would hope that you guys can steer me in the right direction.
First, are there major differences between the e36 m3's, dependant upon the year they were manufactured?
Second, if I was to buy one (manual obviously), what are some mods I can do to the car, as far as bolt on parts are concerned, to give me a 20-30 whp gain?
Third, considering I live in the mid-west and I currently drive an Audi a4 equipped with quattro, will I be unable to drive "spirited" in somewhat slippery conditions (ie. snow, rain, and cold) with the m3? What I mean is, I have a modded a4 with suspension, swaybars, and etc.., but I can drive around town fast everynow and then if I feel like it, will I be able to do that with the e36? Or am I giving up handling in the cold months going from quattro to rwd?
Lastly, what advise would you give to someone who is looking to buy an m3?

I thank you guys for all the help in advance, and I appreciate any feedback you can throw my way. I look forward to driving around in my soon to be acquired m3.

Also I've attached a picture of my current A4, if anyone is interested to know what it looks like.

Cheers,
Saeed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc00387.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	140.8 KB
ID:	13632  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement