new m3 e46 - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) General M-Series Discussion - If it does not fit into a more specific M Category above, please place it in here. In addition, previously archived M-Series discussion is located in this section.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-17-2009, 12:29 PM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
just a guy is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
new m3 e46

hey guys.

im new to this forum and I need your help.
im new to this m3 game.
i have a nissan s12 drift car and now i need something nicer so thats why i want to buy e46.
but i dont know what to look for when buying a used m3.
do u guys have advice or tips......
i was thinkin of getting a convertable. but ive heard that the tops leak .......
thanks and the more feed back the better
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 07-18-2009, 08:52 PM
Mr. Clean

BimmerE39 will become famous soon enough
Garage
The convertible is also heavy and it takes away structural rigidity from the chassis. I prefer the coupe in terms of looks as well. First, if you can get one with full documentation (oil changes, repairs, etc.) you'll have a better idea of the condition of the car and whether it's been maintained or not. Also, you will want to look at cars newer than 2002. Earlier in the production cycle BMW built the S54 motor with non spec crank bearings. BMW put out a recall to rebuild the engines with the fault crank bearings but I'm sure there are still quite a few cars out there that are still ticking time bombs. Other than those two major things look for the overall condition of the car.

Also, if the car is in overall good shape (interior, exterior, engine bay) than I would consider purchasing the vehicle. Low mileage also helps as well.
#3 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 01:09 PM
n00b

just a guy is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)