BMW Werkz banner

Hello Newbie Here

2K views 23 replies 7 participants last post by  M3 Chick 
#1 ·
Hi everyone :wave

I'm 23 and currently own an 05 plate Honda Civic Type R.

In the near future i'm thinking about the switch to an E46 M3 :thumbs

Just need all the advice i can get and what to pay etc..

Many thanks.

#7 ·
well im guessin you havent driven a SMG... i would go to the dealer and fuck up there trannys and see if you would lik the SMG over the 6 speed manuel.. oh yeah. the first few years they were out. they had a engine problem causing them to over heat.

#11 ·
well just warnign you. the bmw transmission is nothing like a regural transmission, the feel is something to get used to. but is very much set up for performance in the driver.

#12 ·
Moving from a Japanesse car to a German car is a big difference. BMWs are made for Sports and Comfort, basically BMW is the most luxurious sports car you can buy (where as Mercedes is the sportiest luxury car you can buy). The M3 is probably to me and many who don't have one (like my buddys with Z06 Vettes, GTO and RX8) envy the vast abilities from track use, to back seat and trunk and even drag strip use. It is very versatile and when you want to be nice and gentle and go for a drive and impress a woman, she will melt into the leather seats. I personally have the E36 M3, its cheaper to own and cheaper to upgrade for now. The E46 is still expensive and will be 'til the Newer M3 comes out.
Anyway, I would go with the Manual tranmission too. People I know who ordered an M3 with SMG like it, but miss the manual transmission and the reliability of it. Remember, more moving parts equal more expensive repairs.
You could have a very nice example of an E36 M3 right now, go take a look at one. Drive it for a few years, and soon enough the E46s will lower in Value and maybe you can have two! :p
Good luck in your search!
:driving

#14 ·
Originally posted by Ralphy@Jul 26 2005, 11:50 AM
Oh and i want Lacuna Seca Blue!