Harman karden subwoofer not working!! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) General M-Series Discussion - If it does not fit into a more specific M Category above, please place it in here. In addition, previously archived M-Series discussion is located in this section.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 09:01 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sniper0707 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Harman karden subwoofer not working!!

Hi there am a new member to this forum,i own a BMW E46 M3 have had the car now for 2 years ever since a bought it the harman karden subs have never worked,i have looked at the wiring to the best of my knowledge to make sure that it is not anything obvious like a broken wire and seems sound,any help would be greatly appriciated many thanks Stuart.
sniper0707 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 09-29-2009, 02:45 PM
Im Bluffin With My Muffin
 
AlpineSixAndSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 5,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to AlpineSixAndSeven
When the stereo is playing is there power at the connector going to the sub? Just voltage to see if the amp is even sending power to it the voltage will look funny but if it is there then it is normally a blown sub But i'm suspecting the Amp

1991 Ford Taurs SHO 5 Speed White on Tan
1996 Chevy Lumina LTZ Rep 3.4L
1992 318i Coupe parts car
1992 325i Ls1 swap with a T56 6 speed 12.2 quarter mile
1976 Mercedes Benz 300D with a Ford 5.0L Fuel Injected soon to be Modded
I am Captain Obvious
AlpineSixAndSeven is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-30-2009, 03:40 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sniper0707 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the reply,from the main amp which runs all of the in car speakers there is voltage to a second small amp which is mounted next to the two 6x9 subs which is mounted on the roof of the boot,i suspect it is possibly the small amp that runs the two subs that may have blown but want to be sure before replacing as it is very expensive,i believe the main amp (that is mounted on the left side of the boot under the cd changer and sat nav system)is ok because all the other speakers work,

anyone have any idea?
sniper0707 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-30-2009, 04:44 AM
4th Gear Member
 
carguy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
carguy13 is on a distinguished road
are there fuses to either the amp, or the subs?

i'm sure there is an internal fuse for the amplifier...you might wanna look into that...

carguy13 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-30-2009, 05:34 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sniper0707 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Problem solved,dismantled amp to look for internal fuse,discovered that the coil had broken away from the pcb,prob from vibration,repaired and re-soldered the component works perfectly now many thanks for all your help really appriciate it,i have posted pics of what i discoved below.






sniper0707 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 09-30-2009, 05:43 PM
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 14,697
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice witeshark is just really nice
Glad you got it sorted; thanks for sharing the solution.

BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 11:55 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
triumphsix is on a distinguished road
I just pulled my amp apart and found the same thing. did you add some new copper wire to fix it? I'm trying to figur out how to do it without iot breaking again. Looks like you may have unwound the wire enough to give you some good leads. How did you attach the coil to the board? perhaps some epoxy? It looks like the factory didn't use any glue, so the wires just broke from the weight of the coil. Thanks for any advice!

Dave

2001 330ci H/K
triumphsix is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 01:37 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
triumphsix is on a distinguished road
OK, just pulled apart the coil, unwound each lead a half turn, flipped it over, and resoldered to the PCB. Used Superglue (I'm sure the wrong thing, which I will regret) to secure the disc to the PCB, and put her back together. I've had the car 6 years, and the sub was never working! Sounds great, now! Thanks for the post, even if it's a year old!

Dave
triumphsix is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 09-29-2010, 04:02 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sniper0707 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by triumphsix View Post
OK, just pulled apart the coil, unwound each lead a half turn, flipped it over, and resoldered to the PCB. Used Superglue (I'm sure the wrong thing, which I will regret) to secure the disc to the PCB, and put her back together. I've had the car 6 years, and the sub was never working! Sounds great, now! Thanks for the post, even if it's a year old!

Dave
Hi there,
I did the same,I removed the disk base to the coil with a flat screw driver carefully and unwound each coil a half turn,then i used araldite two part epoxy(which is a resin type of glue and drys v hard)to stick the disk to the coil,left for a few hours to harden properly then resoldered to the pcb,I did't stick the disk to the pcb because i was'nt sure if the resin i was using was going to effect the circuitry on the board,am sure what you have done will be fine.
sniper0707 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2011, 04:55 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
daytonatrbo is on a distinguished road
So I guess I'm resurrecting this thread once again. I'm having a similar problem on my 03. I've taken the small amp apart and the large coil seems to be securely glued down as if from the factory. I can measure continuity across the solder pads that it connects to.

If I plug the main harness into the little amp while the radio is running, there is an audible pop from the woofers, but other than that there is no sound ever.

I just bought the car and I was really disappointed with the sound of the harman system until I realized that the subs weren't functioning.
daytonatrbo is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 10-16-2011, 05:40 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
daytonatrbo is on a distinguished road
a bit more info:

I desoldered the coil in question so I could check the continuity without the possibility of a false positive through the board circuitry. It is in fact a continuous circuit through the coil winding.
daytonatrbo is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 10-16-2011, 06:36 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
daytonatrbo is on a distinguished road
So I cant seem to find the edit post button.

For anyone interested, my problem turned out to be where the main (black) connector is soldered to the PCB. I "re-flowed" those connections and now my subs work.
daytonatrbo is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 08:52 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lendoma78 is on a distinguished road
Hi there am a new member to this forum,i own a BMW E46 M3 have had the car now for 2 years ever since a bought it the harman karden subs have never worked
Lendoma78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > BMW Model Specific Forums > M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6)


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
323is Harman Kardon system help . karl323is Audio and Electronics 1 09-21-2009 03:28 PM
Harman Kardon Drive + Play jcap 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 09-08-2006 03:02 PM
BMW E46 Harman Kardon Amplifier HAKANO 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 10-28-2005 02:41 PM
'96 328 Harman Kardon System Question, gfowler Audio and Electronics 3 03-11-2005 08:13 PM
330XI - Harman Kardon Doc Johnson 3-Series (E46, E90) 1 09-22-2003 05:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome