BMW Werkz banner

Slip And Slide

5K views 51 replies 16 participants last post by  4evrwyntr 
#1 ·
So I'm relatively new to driving my bimmer and all. I've always heard that it will skid in rain and snow but I really didn't think it was the case in rain. Over the past week it's been raining here in Toronto and I've been driving the same as I always have without any problems .. until last nite. It was coming down pretty hard around 10:30 pm. I was coming off the highway doing about 100 (km/h) onto a 4 lane street. The off ramp connecting to the street was about 90 degree turn. So I go into the curve full speed and then baaaaaam. My back side totally loses control, I skid across three lanes (thank God there was noone behind me) while still pushing hard forward. It was pretty scary yet sick at the same time since it was like one of those movie moments when a car takes a sharp turn and slides across the street :driving. I've learned my lesson though .. in rain slow down on the sharp turns :p

#2 ·
In cases like this - don't blame the car! :p
I've heard a lot of people blame their cars, whether it be mustang or bimmer, and how rear wheel drive sucks blah blah blah. Like you said - you've learned to drive differently. An all wheel drive vehicle if driven incorrectly is MUCH MORE dangerous through a curve than a rear wheel drive (unless it's intelligent all wheel drive). Anyway, glad to hear you're okay - maybe get some all season tires? I mean, good ones? They make a world of difference - you probably know that though.
Sorry, this came out like a rant, but wasn't meant as one.

#3 ·
Any car would have done that in your sitation.

You were slowing down going into a sharp corner. With the weight transferred off the back tires, it will slide really easily.

Sounds to me like you think your BMW is some kind of "super" car that can defy the laws of physics.

Glad you didn't hurt anyone being so stupid.

#6 ·