If you aren't familiar with the road, it's basically an open 4 lane highway that's been recently paved. I was on my way north to meet up with some friends at a campground. Of course, New Hampshire is very rural, and there is no one on the road at that hour, so I figured to make time and cruise at about 115-130.
I fly by exit 9, and I didn't see there was a cop sitting farther up on the exit. By the time he caught up to me, I was approaching the tollbooths at exit 11. This was about a distance of 3 miles. My radar detector didn't go off once.
So I see the lights behind me, and first thing comes to mind; "shit."
I pull over, the cop comes up to me, and says; "please step out of the vehicle."
"put your hands on the hood"
"you're under arrest for reckless driving"
Handcuffs hurt like ass. They aren't comfortable at all. So now I am standing there (side of the highway) while the cop takes down my information, handcuffs and all, and all I can think of is "these are killing my upper arm"
He asks "will i find anything I am not supposed to in your car?
a smug reply "maybe a quart of oil in the trunk"
After searching my car for 2 minutes, he's impressed on how clean my car is.
"you really keep it clean"
After this, another state police officer comes along and they get to talking with me and everything, all the fun times.
So I get to the station, and they book me. They take my photo, fingerprints, everything. I got to use my cell phone, and the minute I came insdie, they took off my handcuffs. (sitting in a car with handcuffs on behind your back sucks)
Two days ago, I had court at Hooksett District Court. My uncle drove me up there, and it took me about 1 hour to get up there.
The state police officer said "the minimum fine is this"
So I signed things and agreed to go along with it.
I can't drive in NH now for 60 days. and 900 Dollars later...Im free of the court system!
New Hampshire and Massachusetts(my home state) share a reciprocation law for certain offenses(mostly drunk driving) so I am waiting to see what the state is going to do (in regards to taking away my license)
Keep in mind, I've had several priors. Mostly speeds greater then 100, operating left of center, and such.
I know it's hard to do with a bimmer, but I am so not going to speed anymore. My insurance has reached an all time high of 406 dollars a month, along with my car payment of 569.
If I lose insurance coverage, that means I lose the car. If you don't have insurance on a vehicle that's got a lien on it, they reposess it.
So, A lesson out there to those who speed. Be careful! because it sucks not being able to drive.
And that's why I've never been over 85MPH. Period. And I've had three speeding tickets. Texas is pretty lenient though. I've had them all expunged. My record is still clean. I'm still paying an ungodly $300/mo.
i was racing kid last summer in my 99 trans-am and i got clocked at 136 MPH and as i get off my exit the cop pulls me over.... so on the fly i make up this story about how the car that i killed was "chasing" me and mad e it seem like i was a victim of road rage (when in reality i juss waxed this monte carlo) the cop believed it and asked if i had a cell phone... so like a dumbass i said yes and he said "son you shoulda called us instead of trying to run from him.... i lived like 2 miles away thank god and told the cop i was juss trying to make it home and he ended up believing me and wrote me up for 85 in a 70... morale of the story is.... if ever pulled over for speeding at a ridculous speed.... act like a scared bitch and lie!
Wow, that really sucks about your monthly insurance bill. For first time offenders, I'd suggest seeing if you can find a lawyer that specializes in traffic law in the area. Here in Westchester, my lawyer was able to get my speeding infraction reduced to 'disobeying a traffic control device' with no impact on my insurance. He attended court on my behalf too, so I didn't have to take any time off from work. Yes I still had to pay a hefty fine, plus the lawyer's fees, but I'll take that one-time charge over an ongoing monthly increase from my insurance company any day. I think the courts just want to collect their money and don't really care to screw you insurance-wise, especially if you are a first time offender.
Lost my Lisence for going 110 in a 50 back with my Acura Integra my senior year of HS...Insurance Surcharge only went up $125 a YEAR...don't know how that happened...but my Ls was gone for 3 months and I paid $300 in fines and $700 to a lawyer...
__________________ 1996 318i
5 Speed Manual
Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12" Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4" 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25" component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
The AutoGuide.com network consists of the largest network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
AutoGuide.com provides the latest car reviews, auto show coverage, new car prices, and automotive news. The AutoGuide network operates more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share opinions as a community.