BMW Werkz banner

good read for M car owners

3K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  Furious 
#1 ·
I was reading this article in the Tech Q&A in the June issue of Bimmer magazine, I agree quite a lot with what Mike Miller has to say. I found it a good read. Share your thoughts.

This was to the question asked

QUESTION
I am new to the BMW world, having just bought a 330i with the performance package. I picked up Bimmer#41 , read it cover to cover and will be a subscriber. IN the Tech Q&A section, a reader asked about the aboved-mentioned car, and the answer given was spot on! I am a 44 year old , own a couple of businesses and have no time to do any modifications myself other than add a set of cool blue angel eyes, get all that black body trim molding painted silver and get all of the yellow out of those rear and side lenses. The performance upgrades, aerodynamics upgrades and other bits engineered by the people who make the car appealed a lot to me. The M3 is too expensive, doesn’t four door and is noticeably harsh to me. With the performance package, I kept the smoothness of the stock 330i, got my four doors plus a very tastefully done aerodynamic upgrade. I do wish that BMW had hit the 250hp market, if only as a “feel good” thing. After spending 42 large, it’s no fun having to hear Infiniti G35 owners talk about their 270-280 hp for $7,000 less!

ANSWER

thanks for writing in. we’ve received several letters like yours. In my opinion there is a price point above which some U.S buyers of performance cars will make their choice based almost solely on horsepower, zero-to-60 mph acceleration and the looks of the car, and without much regard to technical specifications, build quality or overall driving dynamics.