V1 Radar Hard Wire Install - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2005, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Car:
Posts: 4
Photos:
toddjank is an unknown quantity at this point
I would like to hard wire the install of my V1 Radar Unit into my X3.
I know there is a simple answer but where is the best place connect the 12V+ lead?
toddjank is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2005, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
up above the dome lights by the rear view mirror. There is a 12V by the sun roof motor.
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 2,195
Photos:
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
i did mine under the dash, and ran the flat phone cord behind the left column
__________________
CiscoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Car:
Posts: 2,195
Photos:
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
look
Attached Thumbnails
V1 Radar Hard Wire Install-dsc00097.jpg  
__________________
CiscoKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
I have done 5 radar installations using the wires above the domelights, I know they work for sure too, and a little closer. I have done it in an audi, my car (twice), 328is, and e46 m3
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 06:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Car:
Posts: 4
Photos:
toddjank is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by toddjank@Mar 29 2005, 09:01 PM
I would like to hard wire the install of my V1 Radar Unit into my X3.
I know there is a simple answer but where is the best place connect the 12V+ lead?
[snapback]321246[/snapback]
OK I am still looking for that 12V. I attached a picture of my sun roof motor with wire connector disconected. The two larger guage wires do not have any voltage (the black with white stripe and the brown colored ones. (yes I checked it with ignition on). I assume the 12V is not one of the smaller leads. Is there a power lead some place else. Any help would be appreciated.[attachmentid=20909]
Attached Thumbnails
V1 Radar Hard Wire Install-motor2.jpg  
toddjank is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Hard Is It To Install New Springs And Shocks? chr328is 3-Series (E36) 18 03-10-2005 01:37 AM
Is it hard to install coilovers on an e35 325i? Scarface 3-Series (E36) 3 11-23-2003 12:29 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.