Tyre Pressure Monitor System - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2008, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
Pete2007 is on a distinguished road
Tyre Pressure Monitor System

Hi,

I purchased a tyre pressure monitor system for my car, just wondered if there are any help tutorials/websites on how to install these units?

Any advice would be most appreciated.
Pete2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-12-2008, 02:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Honolulu. HI
Car: E30 318i, E30 318is, E30 M3
Posts: 629
Photos:
dvmotorsports is on a distinguished road
post pics of what you have and we will go from there
__________________
BMW Technician
dvmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
Pete2007 is on a distinguished road
The model is called a Valet TPMS400



Pete2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Honolulu. HI
Car: E30 318i, E30 318is, E30 M3
Posts: 629
Photos:
dvmotorsports is on a distinguished road
okay, this system requires you to break the bead on your tires and remove the valve stem. on removed, replace with monitor. make sure they go in the correct tire if labeled. and install the nut that keeps the tpms in the wheel.

the box with the writing appears to be the power supply to the lcd display. so you will want to hook that up to the battery and make sure you have a long enough wiring lead to mount the display in your vehicle.

once you have power and the display is operating, follow the calibration instruction included with the monitor. you will probably only need to drive the vehicle for a short distance to achieve calibration. but i cannot be sure since each system operates differently.

what vehicle is this going on?

good luck with the install. if you have any other question i will answer them the best i can.
__________________
BMW Technician
dvmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Car:
Posts: 35
Photos:
Pete2007 is on a distinguished road
Its going on a 318ci, the valves has already been fitted by a professional tyre fitter, but its just wiring up the monitor, would you recommend a professional to do this job?
Pete2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Honolulu. HI
Car: E30 318i, E30 318is, E30 M3
Posts: 629
Photos:
dvmotorsports is on a distinguished road
it's should just be;

power and ground to the black box,
and a power lead to the display

it should be pretty simple, unless the display lead is routed through the engine bulkhead.

but if you are uncomfortable, don't risk frying your system. i would pay no more than $50 USD to have it installed. I am assuming you are in England based on the way you spell tire(tyres). But I don't know the market value of the install there. You should pay less than having a radio installed. And if they calibrate it, you should pay the same as a radio install. Unless they go through the bulkhead. Then it will be a little more.

Hope that helps.
__________________
BMW Technician

Last edited by dvmotorsports; 01-12-2008 at 03:36 PM.
dvmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 04:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
I would agree. It should cost you about the same as installing an amplifier. I worked at a car audio/security shop for years, and we did oddball stuff too(radar detectors, headlights, ricer products, etc.). I would price this at about the cost of an amplifier.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 11:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
MajorHavoc is on a distinguished road
I too have this system and I'm trying to install it!
However, on page 11 of the installation manual, step 4, I can not read the color code of the wires!!! ARGH!!!
The image is so small and of poor quality, I am unable to make out which of the 3 wires goes where!! HELP!!!

Has anybody installed this? Can someone PLEASE tell me which wire goes where??

Thanks!!!
MajorHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tyre pressure control joebe1 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 07-09-2007 07:14 PM
What Tyre Pressure? ---318is--- 3-Series (E36) 4 01-24-2005 01:12 AM
Tyre Pressure sharabi 3-Series (E46, E90) 2 09-26-2004 09:06 PM
tyre pressure epaul197 3-Series (E36) 9 07-31-2003 09:25 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.