subs - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2003, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Aggieland81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Car:
Posts: 345
Photos:
Aggieland81 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Aggieland81
if i get subs for my e36 is it going to be hard to install because of a factory amp?
__________________
<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-4-1083708618.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Aggieland81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2003, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
depends on how you have everything set up.

If you are running off the stock HU and you plan to run the subs off that OEM amp as well, you will most likely have issues. If you have another amp to power them it wont matter.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UMBC, Maryland
Car:
Posts: 2,329
Photos:
woobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to woobiee
my installer and i had problems bypassing my stock amp. our options were either bypass teh stock amp, or rewire teh whole car. of course, bypassing would be much cheaper. so we got JL to custom make a pair of 3 way cross overs; this bypassed the factory amp: using the aftermarket headunit's power for the speakers, and the aftermarket amp for the subs so they run on seperate system units.
__________________

woobiee - Anamorphic Cycle
woobiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
why should he have to worry about a X-over though just for subs? He didn't mention other speakers. Im confused.

Anyway, to run the subs off an aftermarket HU w/preouts you shouldnt have to touch the wiring, except for a turn on lead. The amp for the subs wont be wired to the OEM wiring in any way.

If you dont have an aftermerket HU, you can tap into the rear speaker wires for a signal and use a line level converter to run your RCAs. The only time you would have an issue with the stock amp would be if you were running the subs off of it.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Scarface's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jacksonville, AL
Car:
Posts: 569
Photos:
Scarface is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Scarface
Quote:
Originally posted by El Presidente@Nov 25 2003, 05:27 PM
why should he have to worry about a X-over though just for subs? He didn't mention other speakers. Im confused.

Anyway, to run the subs off an aftermarket HU w/preouts you shouldnt have to touch the wiring, except for a turn on lead. The amp for the subs wont be wired to the OEM wiring in any way.

If you dont have an aftermerket HU, you can tap into the rear speaker wires for a signal and use a line level converter to run your RCAs. The only time you would have an issue with the stock amp would be if you were running the subs off of it.
The exact same advice I was going to give!
__________________
-1998 BMW 540i6(Axis Penta 20's,M5 shadow grilles,trunk lip,led tails,oem front lip,PIAA lighting)
-2002 Cadillac Escalade(Zinik Luina 22's,OEM HID upgrade)
Scarface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 07:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UMBC, Maryland
Car:
Posts: 2,329
Photos:
woobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to woobiee
in my situation this is what happened:

the speakers in the car was overpowered by the stock amp. the stock amd + the power from the headunit made it overpowered. thus, when you have the volume at a good level, you wouldnt be able to hear the subs at all, since the volume was too low to have the subs be heard. (the volume was at like 1 or 2 in an alpine unit). so we had to bypass the stock amp to balance the volume of the subs and the speakers.
__________________

woobiee - Anamorphic Cycle
woobiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 08:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Aggieland81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Car:
Posts: 345
Photos:
Aggieland81 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Aggieland81
i still ahev the stock HU, and i do have an seperate amp i was going to use, so yoru saying i have to bypass the factory amp then?
__________________
<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-4-1083708618.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Aggieland81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2003, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Aggieland81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Car:
Posts: 345
Photos:
Aggieland81 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Aggieland81
i think i'll just go wit ha bass tube anyone know any good sites
__________________
<img src='http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/uploads/post-4-1083708618.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Aggieland81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 06:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
its easy to bypass the stock system, i did it when i first got my car, (subs were my first mod)
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 03:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
I sugest an infinity bass link. Since you still have the factory HU, the basslink is designed to be plugged into the factory amp.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harmon Kardon -- Location Of Subs? tedmacwpg Audio and Electronics 2 07-18-2005 05:06 AM
Help with Subs Fox Audio and Electronics 8 07-12-2004 02:13 PM
Audiobahn subs Wurzig-Drei Audio and Electronics 1 05-31-2004 07:28 AM
Anyone know about subs? Fox Audio and Electronics 9 02-28-2004 02:06 PM
Dual sub box custom made for BMW & subs El Presidente Classifieds Sell & Buy 17 02-01-2004 01:05 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.