Stock HU w/ AMP + SUB - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 12:37 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
epistemology is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok, did some searching and i found a post but it turned into a flaming post.

anyways, my question is, i have a 1992 325i (E36). I dont want to remove the stock HU but i am concerned with the high level inputs going into the amplifier. I am having a professional do this install. Will they use a converter or will they use the high level inputs?

If so, how bad is it to use the high level inputs? Is there a noticable difference between them and the RCA's????

Thanks

Dave
epistemology is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 02:02 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Converters are dirt cheap, why not DIY? Hell, I've amassed a small collection. I'll send you one for the cost of shipping. If you insist on having it done at a shop, don't risk it and tell them you want a converter put in.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 02:33 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
new hu should work fine with the factory amp. many still have it installed and working with after market HUs...

people run into more difficulty when just tring to put an aftermarket amp while maintaing stock speakers and HU

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 02:54 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
epistemology is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by El Presidente@Jun 17 2004, 01:42 PM
Converters are dirt cheap, why not DIY? Hell, I've amassed a small collection. I'll send you one for the cost of shipping. If you insist on having it done at a shop, don't risk it and tell them you want a converter put in.

how much do the converters cost? The only reason im having a shop do it is because i dont feel like touching this car. I have a 95 Probe GT that i have done everything to, kinda want that "if they fugg it up" "they pay for it" feeling.

Thanks El Presidente

Oh, 007ben i treid to say i wanted to KEEP the STOCK UNIT and use an aftermarket sub and amp.
epistemology is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 03:21 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
one of those days.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2004, 06:17 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
I think i have a blaupunkt converter and a jenson converter. Take your pick.

I know have the J one. If I have the B one, it is new and never used. Came with my current amp. In a store, converters run anwhere from 10-30, depending on brand and markup. It'd be about $4 USPS.

As for working on this car, it is probably be easier than the probe.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 06-18-2004, 08:57 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
epistemology is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
do you think they will use a converter in the install?
epistemology is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 06-18-2004, 11:14 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
CiscoKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
CiscoKid is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to CiscoKid
dont use a converter

i had one.. it sounded like shit... just plug the H/u straight into the wireharness

CiscoKid is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2004, 03:15 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
umm.

I don't think you are clear on what he is doing. There is no HU to plug into a harness.

RCA converters use splices on individual wires (rear pos and neg for each side, respectively).

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2004, 09:20 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Yes, a line level converter is better than hi-level inputs on the amp.

It is still a very dirty signal, and as 007stated earlier, it is easier and a much better idea to add an aftermarket head unit and then add speakers and a sub than leaving the stock rocker in an replace the other speakers...

jllphan is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 06-19-2004, 01:36 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
epistemology is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hey fellas,

thanks for all the input.

Well, i was just looking at my dad's setup

3 JL w0 10's against a 400w coustic amp running off the high level inputs and damn, it sounds crazy with the gains turned down.

I dont think it will be that bad, we will just have to see monday.

Thanks again for all your post......HAVE FUN AND UP!!!!!!!!



epistemology is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 11:23 PM
How do you install amp and subs to a stock headunit? t5sesco Audio and Electronics 2 09-16-2005 02:26 AM
Back To Stock Sale Look!! M3 Parts bigbris1 OEM Parts 29 07-14-2005 01:59 PM
How To Access Stock Amp lttlwd04 Audio and Electronics 5 04-24-2005 03:21 PM
Stock CD changer Shudogg 3-Series (E36) 5 05-08-2004 07:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome