Removed covers-NoPrewireFor CD changer on the left - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2003, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
Orcoon is an unknown quantity at this point
I got an Alpine CHAS-634 along with its adapters and stuff to make it fit to my 330Ci (Model year 2003, W/Business CD,W/Hifi Harman Kardon, W/o DSP ). I removed the cover on the left side of the trunk and surprise!!! No prewiring . I thought all cars came with Cd changer prep.
Orcoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2003, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Car: turbo e36 325/s50 and e46 330xi
Posts: 10,839
Photos:
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
moving to audio forum
__________________
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
morph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Car:
Posts: 878
Photos:
morph is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to morph
how far did you investigate this. i am currently having a stereo crisis and am looking into different options. while looking for the left sided stereo harness in the trunk i removed the carpeting slightly. didn't see anything. the dealer states that i probably have to dig kinda deep. i didn't like this idea....at least..digging deep in my car (other things ca be okay :P ) he said i may have to pretty much peel back most of the carpeting. now...another interesting thought. '97 m3 does it on the right side (at least the one i looked at). i wonder if it my be over on that side?
__________________
<img src='http://home.earthlink.net/~thefurthestpoint/bimmer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
morph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UMBC, Maryland
Car:
Posts: 2,329
Photos:
woobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond reputewoobiee has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to woobiee
should the trunk lid display icons saying it is prewired. On my trunk lid (inside) it has little icons that says things like "pre wired for alarm" "prewired for cd changer" "prewired for phone" etc.
__________________

woobiee - Anamorphic Cycle
woobiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
morph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Car:
Posts: 878
Photos:
morph is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to morph
Quote:
Originally posted by woobiee@Aug 9 2003, 09:26 PM
should the trunk lid display icons saying it is prewired. On my trunk lid (inside) it has little icons that says things like "pre wired for alarm" "prewired for cd changer" "prewired for phone" etc.
judging by the fantasic german sense of engineering i would imagine so...but i don't have a definitive answer. from my little experience, it appears that the cd changers were coincidentally on the same side as the button/sticker thingie. i'll check mine tomorrow after work and let you know.....if i find mine.
__________________
<img src='http://home.earthlink.net/~thefurthestpoint/bimmer.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
morph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Car:
Posts: 6
Photos:
spudorange is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Orcoon@Jul 28 2003, 03:43 PM
:driving I got an Alpine CHAS-634 along with its adapters and stuff to make it fit to my 330Ci (Model year 2003, W/Business CD,W/Hifi Harman Kardon, W/o DSP ). I removed the cover on the left side of the trunk and surprise!!! No prewiring :(. I thought all cars came with Cd changer prep.
I also am after the wiring loom for this.

I wish to fit the API CHAS 634 which is the mp3 version of the standard bmw auto changer

HOWEVER theres no wiring, just a space above the sat nav

I got quoted for 2 wires (if needed, must check first) 7 each one.

all service department would say was let us have it in and we will investigate and charge you only for the time we spend looking for the wiring, of course we will fit for you.

Strangely (not) they can't fit just the 2 wires as in their words "how can we test that the work has been carried out correctly"

changer is 185 (shopping around)
wires 14

the suggest around 500

what was concerning me was as it does not say anything such as business cd etc on head unit cos it's sat nav then fitting such a lead might frig up something.

I need I think to do the following (would prefer input back please)

1. If the cabling is not there then

buy the 2 leads and radio
then get them fitted together professionally but NOT by bmw

advice please guys.
spudorange is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 11:50 AM
alpine unit with Pioneer changer - not working BobCT Audio and Electronics 14 06-28-2004 10:48 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.