Radio/Audio Questions - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2004, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Car:
Posts: 103
Photos:
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Braymond Send a message via AIM to Braymond Send a message via MSN to Braymond Send a message via Yahoo to Braymond
Thumbs up

I bought one of these the other day


It's a 7" Touchscreen LCD. I'm going to build a computer in my car based around that screen. I was just wondering if there are any audio-in ports on the stock deck? Any alternative decks or solutions if there aren't? I know I can do a radio type transmission (where you basically make your own radio station that plays through an FM channel). Suggestions please!

Oh yeah, its a 2001 330i with the Business CD player.
__________________
<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2004, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Car:
Posts: 103
Photos:
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Braymond Send a message via AIM to Braymond Send a message via MSN to Braymond Send a message via Yahoo to Braymond
Dude, you moved it here and no one is answering... can you please put it back in the E46 crowd... no one comes here.
__________________
<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
eloff19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Car:
Posts: 236
Photos:
eloff19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to eloff19
i don't think many people are too sure...but from my experience, which is a 95 325 and 95 m3 there are no inputs/outputs (rca's and what have you) on the deck, but since that is an 01 i'd say to get a manual or to just take it out and take a gander...its not hard to do

sorry that i'm not of much help!
eloff19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Car:
Posts: 103
Photos:
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Braymond Send a message via AIM to Braymond Send a message via MSN to Braymond Send a message via Yahoo to Braymond
That's okay homestar... at least you tried. I'm just going to pull it out... thought maybe I could get some input on any inputs

-B
__________________
<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
eloff19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toledo, OH
Car:
Posts: 236
Photos:
eloff19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to eloff19
haha, lemme know what you find
eloff19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
It is vary rare to find expansion capability in a factory system unless its for a specific factory component.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Car:
Posts: 103
Photos:
Braymond is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Braymond Send a message via AIM to Braymond Send a message via MSN to Braymond Send a message via Yahoo to Braymond
Okay, what about using the factory CD Changer plug? Although I dont know where the F its at, i think it might carry some audio... errr.

I guess Im just going to do a make your own radio station thing used

Does anyone have pictures of an alternate system that would go in place of a stock deck?

-B
__________________
<a href='http://www.ipccomputers.org' target='_blank'>My 'in-progress' Business</a>
<img src='http://www.ipccomputers.org/DSC01118.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
2001 330i
Braymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 02:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Car:
Posts: 2,907
Photos:
bitcore will become famous soon enoughbitcore will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to bitcore Send a message via AIM to bitcore Send a message via MSN to bitcore
CD changer would carry audio if you already have a CD changer, just splice into the wires. If the head unit doesn’t output audio when the cd player isn't playing, i guess you could burn an audio CD with just silence in it and set it on loop. Ugly hack but hey, It'd work! (I think the harness is on the right side of the trunk, but you have an E46 chassis and I haven’t had experience with these so I could very well be wrong.) I don't really recommend you do this, but it is possible and could work just fine.

Since you have a stock head unit, I doubt heavily that you will have an auxiliary input. I doubt you want to change out the head unit with an aftermarket one, so I'd go RF modulator. If you get a NICE one, the quality isn't really too bad. I'd avoid RF if you can find a hard-wired solution; otherwise, RF is the way to go for this application.
__________________

bitcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bimmer n00b questions angryrobots 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 12-09-2007 11:08 PM
Couple of Questions rborak318iS 3-Series (E36) 5 10-02-2005 08:21 PM
Buying First Used Bmw, Have Some Questions ynotony 3-Series (E36) 1 06-06-2005 03:17 AM
New To Site, Have Some Questions Dj_325 3-Series (E21, E30) 6 05-12-2005 11:40 PM
Noob Questions.... 92_325i 3-Series (E36) 1 10-01-2004 11:16 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.