OEM Disc Changer Problem - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2007, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 8
Photos:
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
OEM Disc Changer Problem

Great Forum!
I have a '95 325i (actually have 2 of them) with the 6 disc changer in the trunk. I'm pretty sure it is an alpine, and has the 15 pin connector. The problem is that while playing a disc, while driving, the cartridge will dislodge slightly, and I get a Disc Error. This shuts down the unit, and the disc is then stuck. I have taken it apart several times to retrieve the disc, it works great sitting still, and i have tried the cartridge out of the other bimmer, and it does the same thing. Does anyone know if there is an adjustment somewhere inside the case, that holds the cartridge in place? If not, is there another changer that will work with the original head unit?
superglide09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2007, 04:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
There are adjustments, but a service shop would probably have to do it. There's not really any user servicable parts in there. Unfortunately the only changer that will work with the factory headunit is the one you have. Even if you got another one, the technology is now 16+ years old (I think 92 is when they came out). For less than half the cost of a new BMW changer, you could have a great headunit with twice the power, better sound quality, cd, mp3 compatibility, ipod inputs, etc. and have it installed. Just toss your stock headunit in the closet and if you ever sell, just pop it back in.

Hope that helps...
Bill
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 8
Photos:
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks for the reply. I probably will get a new headunit. There are almost too many to choose from, but I'll probably go with Alpine or Kenwood....Blaupunkt also seems fit in with the dash well. If I go this route, what happens to the amp in the trunk? Is there a way to use both? I'm not sure, but I figure there is around 100 watts sitting there...
superglide09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Naw, use the aftermarket's power, the stock amp is like 12 watts per channel RMS or something like that. You cant use both together, you have to choose one or the other. The new one will sound better. I install the Alpine units in our limos all the time, real durable and nice features. If Blaupunkt still does the color changing, they used to have an orange-red that matches the Bimmer coloer pretty well. But features and reliability, the Alpine is hard to beat.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 8
Photos:
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks alot for your time and suggestions. You're a wealth of information!! I'm probably gonna check and see what Crutchfield has on sale, and go from there. If I have more problems or questions, I'll be back! lol.
superglide09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Car:
Posts: 8
Photos:
superglide09 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hello again, just got through talking to crutchfield, basically they said the easy install, using their wiring harness and speaker adapter, would use the stock amp and would bypass the amp in the new radio. He said that to use the power in the new head unit, that all the speakers would have to be re-wired directly to the radio. I don't really want to rewire all the speakers. I had decided on a Sony GT420IP since the Ipod adapter was not an extra charge.
Do you, or does anyone have any thoughts on this perdicament? Seems there should be another alternative.....

Thanks.....
superglide09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Unfortunately there's not many choices. The way they are recommending is the simple install. It will work fine that way, its just no matter what headunit you use, you will still only be getting the stock amp's power, no more, no less. Bypassing the stock amp gives you more flexibility in future upgrades. Its really if you plan on upgrading the system later. If you are, the piece they are talking about will basically be a waste, because you wont need it if/when you upgrade.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
n00b
 
dsmooth718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
dsmooth718 is on a distinguished road
i have a problem I recently installed a new cd changer in my car and sometime the car doesn't read the cd changer i somties have to turn it off and turn it back on and press the cd button to get it to cd. if the car is on i cant change from radio to cd unless i turn off and bak on the hit the cd button.. can someone help me with this.
dsmooth718 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for OEM CD CHANGER and RADIO BMWg84 Looking For 2 08-25-2007 12:33 PM
E36 6 Disc CD Changer and Headunit Abiondo OEM Parts 0 08-20-2007 09:44 PM
Bmw Disc Changer 318ti Dillema!!! tonymasone 3-Series (E36) 9 12-03-2004 08:40 AM
Fs: 6 Disc Cd Changer Bengt18T Classifieds Sell & Buy 3 11-15-2004 01:46 AM
H/u And 6 Disc Changer 4 Sale!! E32 740i robob69 Classifieds Sell & Buy 1 11-12-2004 09:20 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.