novice needing advice on amp install please - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 12:43 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
novice needing advice on amp install please

I have bought an Alpine MRV F400 V12 amp off fleabay and really dont know how to go about connecting it to my door speakers. I assume I must disconnect the speakers ISO plug from the back of the HU (Alpine CDA-9856R) and hook up to this? I cant be ahrsed with running wires through the door jam holes or should I? What gauge speaker wire, power cable etc do I need. im running standard speakers at the back (touring) and ive bought 2 morel pulse 6 speakers for the front doors. can that lot handle the alpine amp?
http://i18.ebayimg.com/03/i/000/a9/05/4c6d_1.JPG
also ..what on earth do i do with the 2 crossover boxes? duh!!

many thanks simon
320de46m47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 03:23 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
i have literally been searching the web for hours and can find no reference to how one connects an aftermarket amp to door speakers via the detached ISO plug. seems to me all 8 connections are there in one handy place. do i really have to run a pair of wires into each door?
320de46m47 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 03:26 PM
Sodium Chloride
 
saltshaker185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 3,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold saltshaker185 is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to saltshaker185 Send a message via MSN to saltshaker185
PM da_bull... he used to install stereos for a living and can assist you... thats going to be your quickest link...
saltshaker185 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 11-26-2007, 03:31 PM
Im Bluffin With My Muffin
 
AlpineSixAndSeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 5,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold AlpineSixAndSeven is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to AlpineSixAndSeven
do you have a stock amp. still?

1991 Ford Taurs SHO 5 Speed White on Tan
1996 Chevy Lumina LTZ Rep 3.4L
1992 318i Coupe parts car
1992 325i Ls1 swap with a T56 6 speed 12.2 quarter mile
1976 Mercedes Benz 300D with a Ford 5.0L Fuel Injected soon to be Modded
I am Captain Obvious
AlpineSixAndSeven is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 01:03 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
d3ity will become famous soon enough d3ity will become famous soon enough
skip the stock wiring....completely. To be honest, It's gonna be easier if you run your own wires throughout. You'll also have a good upgrade path.

Mount the amp either under a seat or in the trunk. Mount the crossover boxes next to the amp. Power and ground you should be using 8 gauge wire. Power to the battery should be fused as per your amp's manual. Ground should be made as short as possible to a CLEAN (bare metal) screw. You may have to make your own ground point.

Are you using a stock head unit? If so, you will probably need to convert the signal at some stage to RCA so your amp can be useful. (Line driver?) If not, you're going to need to run RCA cables from your HU to the amp. Once you've got signal from your head unit to the amp, work on speakers.

Run speaker wire (12/14/16 gauge, your pick, I'd go with 12 personally to allow an upgrade path) from the amp to the crossovers. Then mount your speakers and run speaker wire to the amp. Again, spend the money on good wiring so you don't have to rip it out later if you decide you want something better.

<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/TiddlyPlatypus.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204">Put your gamertag here too.</iframe>

Last edited by d3ity; 11-27-2007 at 01:12 AM.
d3ity is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 03:37 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks D3ity!

The stock speaker wiring that runs through the door jamb is connected with a large black multi pin plug. It's going to be very awkward to run wires around this plug isn't it? How did you do it? Would it not be easier to use the existing wiring downstream of the Alpine HU ISO connector? Is there a plug on the market for this purpose? Do you think the sound will suffer too much if I do that? If I do it this way, where would the crossovers be placed...presumably in the doors to separate tweeter from mid? or would i just not use them?
ive done this diagram to explain what im on about...
320de46m47 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 05:09 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
so i'm envisaging it will look like this ...anywhere near?
320de46m47 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 05:40 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
The last diagram will work as long as you dont have a factory amplifier. If you have an amp, you can do the same thing at the amplifier. As long as you arent running a bucketload of power, you can use the stock wiring. D3ity is right, if you are going to keep the car for a long time, I would bypass the stock wiring and just run new. That way you know what you are working with, but the stock wiring is ok in most newer cars if your not comfortable in doing that.

One question, is your Alpine HU using the remote turn on lead (blue w/ white stripe) for anything in your current setup? I am just wondering if you have an amp in there and may not know it. You definitely dont want to run your new amp into the input side of your stock amp.

The crossover position is correct in your second diagram as well.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 10:50 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thats great thanks!

Yes I will be using the remote turn on wire to run the amp which is (99% sure) the only one. Where would it be if I had one (E46 Touring) ?

I'm currently running a sub with built-in amp off one of the three pairs of RCA outs on the HU. There are three in total so another pair will run the new amp. I'll use a branch off the remote wire to the sub/amp for both -- does that seem ok?
320de46m47 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 11:09 AM
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
d3ity will become famous soon enough d3ity will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bull
The crossover position is correct in your second diagram as well.
As far as wiring goes, yes, the crossover position is correct. However I would put the crossovers NEXT TO THE AMP. The reason for this is that it will make it much easier to work on/upgrade your system later. I learned this from my first component speaker install. Nothing is more painful than trying to adjust or replace a crossover that you squirreled away behind a door panel or under a seat.

<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/TiddlyPlatypus.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204">Put your gamertag here too.</iframe>
d3ity is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2007, 11:17 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
yes i can see youre right but would not then be able to utilize the bmw harness of course
if i knew how to get wires around, through or across the door jamb id have no hesitation in running new wires throughout
320de46m47 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 11-28-2007, 10:51 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
im wanting it all to end up like this.. infinity bassamp already bought for more oomph in the back while hoping the morel pulse 6s will do the job in the front


16ga wire for the speakers and 8 for power and ground sound right?
320de46m47 is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 11-28-2007, 03:56 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
-
320de46m47 is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 11-28-2007, 10:03 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Quote:
Originally Posted by 320de46m47
im wanting it all to end up like this.. infinity bassamp already bought for more oomph in the back while hoping the morel pulse 6s will do the job in the front


16ga wire for the speakers and 8 for power and ground sound right?
16-12 gauge speaker wire will work just fine. With that amp, 8 ga. power and ground will work fine. If you think you might eventually run more power, its not much more to go to 6-4 gauge.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 11:27 AM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
320de46m47 is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
many thanks!!!!!!
http://222.234.2.25:8081/board/PDS/d...400-manual.pdf.

this is the amp manual
im a bit confused with the choices
i have a speaker in each corner...is it best to go 4 channels?

speakers are all 4 ohms
i have 3 RCA outputs on the HU

Last edited by 320de46m47; 11-29-2007 at 11:37 AM.
320de46m47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 11:23 PM
speaker and amp install MiguelACA Audio and Electronics 9 04-27-2007 04:19 PM
1990 518i - engine problems and advice for a novice!! RichardMichael 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 02-08-2006 03:18 PM
How do you install amp and subs to a stock headunit? t5sesco Audio and Electronics 2 09-16-2005 02:26 AM
Need Advice on CD Changer Install Kit 2003 325i atwnsw 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 08-28-2004 05:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome