Need help with head unit problem - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 06-13-2006, 01:12 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
tbhtjd is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to tbhtjd
(Thread Starter)
Need help with head unit problem

I installed an aftermarket RCA head unit in my car about a year ago and it has worked fine. I installed 2 new amps about 8 months ago and they have worked well. I recently uninstalled a digital music jukebox I had connected to the CD changer input to make room for my ipod.

Ever since then, the audio out RCAs have been messed up. Nothing will play unless I jiggle the RCA cables from the audio out ports on the head unit. I keep adjusting the RCA cables until they work, but as soon as I reinstall the head unit, the same problem comes up again.

Alright if that made any sense... could it be a problem with the head unit or possibly the cables? Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

-Tim
tbhtjd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 06-13-2006, 05:46 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Grab another set of RCAs, run them over the top of the seat, install the headunit, see of that fixes your problem. If it does, you have bad cables, if it doesnt, you have an issue with the jacks in your headunit.

Just a silly thing, are your amps still on whenever this happens? I was wondering if your remote turn on connection is possibly making/breaking connection. Kinda strange for all 4 (I am assuming 4) RCAs to quit at once. Just food for thought. Hope this helps...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 06-13-2006, 06:23 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
tbhtjd is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to tbhtjd
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the quick reply...

As I started to put in a new temporary set of RCA cables I decided to try the old ones one more time. I found that they worked fine with the head unit out of its spot in the dash. However, when pushed beyond half way into the dash, the sound would cut out. Leaving the music on I managed to fit the head unit in and adjust the cables so the sound stayed on. I am going to see if this lasts and if not then try the other set of cables.

Also, seeing the shotty job I did wiring the remote turn on wire made me think that could be the culprit, but the RCA connections seemed a more logical culprit considering the sound cuts out when the head unit is inserted into the cramped dash. Anyway, thanks again and I'll keep you posted.

-Tim
tbhtjd is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 06:15 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
No problem, lemme know what you figure out. RCAs are pretty delicate cables, so I am pretty sure they are the problem, but I just wanted to throw out some additional places to look. If they are bent pretty hard and/or setting against some air ducts or something similar behind the dash, RCA cables can break easy over time with vibration and such. Good luck...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Stereo Head Unit On '05 330ci edesilva 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 04-12-2005 05:51 AM
Installing A Stereo Head Unit ben_t 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 1 04-04-2005 12:17 AM
Checkin Out This Head Unit... VeLoCiTy318 Audio and Electronics 3 03-09-2005 12:31 AM
Physical mounting of the head unit Skipjacks Audio and Electronics 5 07-21-2004 10:57 PM
OEM Head Unit mmendell Audio and Electronics 6 04-16-2004 09:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome