BMW Werkz banner

need advice on $750 audio overhaul '94 318is

3K views 24 replies 8 participants last post by  jllphan 
#1 ·
I have a '94 BMW 318is with stock speakers and average Sony CD head unit. No changer. I have $750 to spend for a CD head unit and some great speakers front (Floor and Door) and back and perhaps a sub. I am not interested in a CD changer and if I can get away for under $750 that's cool to. I am a Car Audio novice so any soupo to nuts recommendations would be great--thanks. I am looking for a true, rich sound experience that is not too bright.

I am in Los Angeles so if anyone can recommend a good place to go that would be helpful too; I was thinking of going to Al and Ed's.

#2 ·
Nakamichi (CD-400)

Alpine (CDA-9826)

or Kenwood Headunit (KDC-MPV5025)

Infinity Reference Seperates Front (and back if applicable, if not coaxials)

Alpine V12, Kenwood Excelon, or other good name brand Mono Amp
Kicker CompVR 12" Sub

If you buy online, or find some competive shops out there in LA you should be able to pick all this up for right around your budget. Professional install will take you over if you can't do it yourself, but this is the best system I could recomend for your alotted budget.

#3 ·
crutchfield.com has the best prices.. go there and pick out what you want!!! plus its practically free shipping!.. they even send your do it yourself instructions.. and if u need anymore help.. leave a post!! we are here to help!

#6 ·
Infinities tweets also generally use silk, which is not something used by most (if any) car audio companies and is generally reserved for home audio.

Also, some parts of the installation you may want to have done by others, but I have a link in my sig that should help you out if youi decide to do some/all of it yourself.

#8 ·
Originally posted by ultraviolet353@Aug 14 2004, 01:42 AM