is my 2 channel amp good or will i need a 4 channel - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 03:10 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
is my 2 channel amp good or will i need a 4 channel

of so heres the specs of what i have i was wondering if the amp is good for my set up or if you guys could recommend a 4 channel amp

5 1/4 components

250 watts max/125 rms
80hz-20khz
90 db

rear 6x9

500 watts max
30hz-30khz
97 db

amp

550 watts
2 channel

i also have a clarion pro audio head unit DXZ555MP

thanks guys all this stuff has just been sitting around waiting to get in my car for some time..

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 08:36 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Depends. Wattage by itself doesn't mean a lot. I've heard 20w/ch amps that are loads louder than 100w/ch amps. THD and S/N ratio are as important. Provided your amp is two ohm stable, you should be able to run that speaker system fine, but you won't have any fade control i.e. you won't be able to adjust the balance from front to rear.

A good four channel amp (.02THD or so) of 50W/ch would be a better plan as it would run at 4ohms and wouldn't generate as much heat thusly sounding better at high volumes and ultimately lasting longer.

jllphan is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-31-2005, 11:01 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
so how would i wire it up? split some wire or what?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-01-2006, 08:12 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by B3M2W5i
so how would i wire it up? split some wire or what?

quote myself please help me out here..

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-02-2006, 05:26 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
A four channel amp should have four inputs and your headunit should have 4 outputs. Just run two sets of rca cables from the headunit to the amp and run 4 speaker wires to the existing speakers. It'll be more flexible that way.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-02-2006, 05:29 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bull
A four channel amp should have four inputs and your headunit should have 4 outputs. Just run two sets of rca cables from the headunit to the amp and run 4 speaker wires to the existing speakers. It'll be more flexible that way.
sounds right but how could i do it if i want to use my 2 channel amp?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 05:33 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Just wire in the left (front and rear) to the left channel and the same for the right side. You wont have a fader (F/R) but you will still have your correct L/R stereo music. Its not that big of deal (fader) its just that you front and rear speakers will get the exact same power. So if your rears (6x9"ers are typically louder than smaller ones, 90db compared to 97db in your case) are louder you dont get the benefit of making them quieter to match. Thats the flexibility I was speaking of.

Hope that helps...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 07:10 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
how could i wire it? are there special types of wires or a splitter of some sort?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 10:13 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
not really just run the front left speaker to the left channel of the amp, then run the rear left speaker wire to the same two screws on the amps left channel



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 11:53 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
thanks. got any tips on instaling a head unit?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 07:43 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
one last thing... i think i may just stick with the original wires to prevent myself from having to wire everything.. how could i wire an aftermarket head unit to work with the original speakers?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 10:15 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
that would be fine, you can actually get all the individual speaker wires at the factory amplifier thats in the trunk more than likely on the drivers side.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 10:21 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
i would still have a factory amp even if i have the nokia speakers?

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 05:03 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
There should be one, I havent seen a 325 yet that doesnt. Dont get too excited about it though, its only like 10-12 watts per channel RMS. ANY aftermarket amplifier will sound/perform better.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2006, 02:00 AM
3rd Gear Member
 
B3M2W5i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
B3M2W5i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to B3M2W5i
(Thread Starter)
ok last thing really! head unit mounting and installing so easy and obvious i shouldnt even ask or will it be harder than i think?


and btw i took a look at the amp and icant figure out the harness and where everything connects to..

Cashmere Beige Metallic
B3M2W5i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Offered a deal on 1993 325 - good year/deal? Pangris 3-Series (E36) 19 11-15-2007 06:49 AM
To all BMW gurus . . . is this a good deal? bdonkersgoed 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 10 05-29-2004 12:48 PM
good sites for m5s? bimmerM5e39 M-Series (M1, M3, M5, M6) 1 11-28-2003 09:27 AM
What are the good BMW aftermarket companies. B.D Bimmer Talk/Motorsports Talk 4 10-01-2003 07:55 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome