Mounting a computer in your car? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2004, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
2nd Gear Member
 
mikester328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Car:
Posts: 380
Photos:
mikester328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to mikester328
Yo,
I was wondering if anyone ever mounted a DVD Player in their car (from a computer), a USB port (to connect a USB Hard drive with music on it), or like a computer so that you can play tons of audio/video in your car? What tools would I need? I build computers all the time but when it comes to car electronics I'm not the expert for that... Anyone have like a small touchscreen for browsing and playing files or anything? i've been searching for a product like this and can't find a thing.... dunno if anything exists or if it can be done. If you guys have a cool setup could you post your setup? Thanks
mikester328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-25-2004, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
spieluhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Snohomish, Wa
Car:
Posts: 909
Photos:
spieluhr is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to spieluhr
there are special computers for your car i think you can buy (saw it on Pimp My Ride w/ the Scion so dont quote me on this) but i also read somewhere that the power or frequency or something (im not a car electronics expert either as you can tell) isnt up to the par that car stereos are. so you could do it, and i think its been done, but i think what it boils down to is you will play shitty music.

heres a link to a guy that did it...
http://www.vb.quik.com/jmciver/pages/computer.html
__________________
<img src='http://img268.echo.cx/img268/1430/zkwsig23iq.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
1996 328is Black

Suspension: MB Motoring 18x8, Kuhmo Supra 225/35/18ZR
Audio:Eclipse CD3414 HU
Lighting: ZKW W/ DDE PLUS
spieluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
It has been done, a kid at my school did it in his navigator...He tore apart a Sony Vaio Laptop (with my help) and mounted that really thin moniter in the dash and put the main computer part in the dash with some fans and stuff, Pretty easy if u know how to get power to it
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2004, 12:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
4th Gear Member
 
spieluhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Snohomish, Wa
Car:
Posts: 909
Photos:
spieluhr is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to spieluhr
did it sound the same?
__________________
<img src='http://img268.echo.cx/img268/1430/zkwsig23iq.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
1996 328is Black

Suspension: MB Motoring 18x8, Kuhmo Supra 225/35/18ZR
Audio:Eclipse CD3414 HU
Lighting: ZKW W/ DDE PLUS
spieluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
h00d is an unknown quantity at this point
ive seen it all now.....lot of bother really tho for little gain
h00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Car:
Posts: 117
Photos:
Ian-318i is an unknown quantity at this point
Getting power to it is the easy part. Just wire in a DC --> AC Converter (or you can plug it into the cigarette lighter slot if you prefer) , and you can just use the standard wall plug (Use a power conditioner as well, it will save your computer).

Actually integrating the computer with your car audio is the part where i'm scratching my head. Maybe you can get a Y adapter for your headphone jack on your laptop (like $3.00-$5.00 at Radio Shack, looks like <--that, but the one input on the left is a 1/8" headphone plug) that will allow you to hook rca cables to a 4 channel amp, and power some speakers. Don't try this without another opinion. I don't want you blaming me for a fried sound card.
__________________
<img src='http://sigs.pandorafarmsshar-pei.com/sigfiles/Bush.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Ian-318i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
You might be able to connect it via an RCA, but the HU would still have to have an aux setting for it to play.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car: 00 Prelude, 95 525i, 85 635CSi
Posts: 1,414
Photos:
d3ity will become famous soon enoughd3ity will become famous soon enough
www.dashpc.com

i'm gettin that done sometime soon.
__________________
<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/TiddlyPlatypus.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204">Put your gamertag here too.</iframe>
d3ity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Car: 2008 128i
Posts: 2,718
Photos:
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
Seems a good spot ot put a small form factor pc (ipx? ) would be where the stock amp is. if you remove it put the PC there and maybe make some extra ventelation but you already got power there and some stereo stuff too.
__________________
2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 05:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
RetroSpek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Car:
Posts: 560
Photos:
RetroSpek is an unknown quantity at this point
ive seen several carputer setups on my A4. People bought 7 inch touch screens and then hooked it up to a normal stripped down computer (small motherboard and so on). They hid the dvd player in the glove compartment and used a very good PC soundcard to hook up with the rest of the car audio.
__________________
<a href='http://www.RetroSpek.com' target='_blank'>RetroSpek Website - Retro Vintage Everything</a>
RetroSpek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 05:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Car: 00 Prelude, 95 525i, 85 635CSi
Posts: 1,414
Photos:
d3ity will become famous soon enoughd3ity will become famous soon enough
IPX pc's are mostly featureless. plus try to get decent cards for them... best bet is hide a normal microatx in your trunk or somewhere in the car.
__________________
<iframe src="http://gamercard.xbox.com/TiddlyPlatypus.card" scrolling="no" frameBorder="0" height="140" width="204">Put your gamertag here too.</iframe>
d3ity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
I have seen an m3 with a computer in the dash, the laptop that runs the screen up front is hidden on the roof of the trunk on sliders, and it slides out so it can be used from the back, or for admin purposes...

Ill try to find pics
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Me on my car, on the Freeway! 325eXTATIC Picture Showroom 20 01-19-2006 10:49 AM
can i retrofit 13 button onboard computer onto my car? träumer 3-Series (E21, E30) 4 11-01-2005 07:37 PM
Chip Made My Car Slower gonzonick 3-Series (E36) 12 10-25-2005 02:46 PM
problems starting car when cold... VLAD_325is 3-Series (E36) 8 09-12-2005 08:08 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.