Kenwood HU only make sound in radio mode? (E39 stock amp) - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2008, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2008
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jinroh is on a distinguished road
Red face Kenwood HU only make sound in radio mode? (E39 stock amp)

It is a 2000 528i Touring with non-DSP 10 spk sound system with stock amp, cassette, no nav, no cd, no cd changer. I took out the cassette and mid, putted a kenwood excelon KDC-X592 head unit.

The problem is: the HU only plays radio. when I switch to CD or USB mode, the faceplate shows the HU is playing the cd/mp3 correctly, but I can't hear anything. Switch back to radio, the sound is loud and clear again.

My first thought is the HU is a bad one. Since I have the same HU (well, not exactly same, older model, but pretty much same including wiring socket) on my Mazda Miata. I swap the HUs to test it. The new HU plays everything perfectly on Miata, and the old unit still can't make any sound when playing cd/mp3.

I am stuck. What could be wrong? wiring problem? How can the stock amp tell the difference of signal from radio or cd/mp3, then decide to only play radio signal?
jinroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2008, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Ahhhh, Kenwood and Sony. They've always done this. They have two remote turn on leads. One is blue, and one is blue with a white stripe. The blue one is a remote "antenna" lead and the blu/wht is a remote "amp" lead. The "ant" lead actually shuts off when you go to CD/USB because it knows during those sources, your power "antenna" on the outside of your car doesnt need to be up, so it lowers it back into the fender. The remote "amp" lead stays on during whatever source you are listening to because it knows you need a remote for your "amp" all the time.

In short, swap the two blue wires.

Now you can take this info and make money off your friends if they have the same problem and they have either a Sony or Kenwood. I only require 20% of the money you will make off betting your friends. I will send you my paypal information. These two companies have done this since the late 70's.

to werkz BTW...

Bill
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2008
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jinroh is on a distinguished road
I figured it out.

There is a mistake in my wiring.
I should wire HU's Power Const to Amp's Remote On (white). Instead I wired HU's Power Anten. to Amp's Remote On. So the stock amp got triggered only in radio mode.
jinroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2008
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jinroh is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bull View Post
Ahhhh, Kenwood and Sony. They've always done this. They have two remote turn on leads. One is blue, and one is blue with a white stripe. The blue one is a remote "antenna" lead and the blu/wht is a remote "amp" lead.
Hi Bull. I just saw your post after I got upstairs and posted my finding. That's exactly my problem. Thank You

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bull View Post
Now you can take this info and make money off your friends if they have the same problem and they have either a Sony or Kenwood. I only require 20% of the money you will make off betting your friends. I will send you my paypal information.
See sir. You are entitled of my 20% profit. If any of them give me dozen of beers, I will mail you two or three.

Last edited by jinroh; 05-27-2008 at 09:39 PM.
jinroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
OMFG another one!?
 
witeshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami FL
Car: 89 E30 325i, 2007 Honda
Posts: 14,690
Photos:
witeshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nicewiteshark is just really nice
That antenna retract is a great idea. I always wanted my E30 to do that.
__________________
BMW

Sig by zeaq
witeshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 05:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Unless you have a Kenwood/Sony, the only way I could think of doing it, is put a switch inline on the remote lead, to where it would shut the antenna lead off. Not quite as cool as it doing it automatically, but it would work.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Car:
Posts: 1
Photos:
bhyphy is on a distinguished road
does dis also works for a alpine head unit n for a 2001 325i? because i got da same problem
bhyphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 04:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Yeah, I forgot some Alpines do that too.

to werkz BTW...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
denyo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Car: 88 325iT, 88 320i, 92 325iC, 89 190
Posts: 1,940
Photos:
denyo77 is on a distinguished road
Garage
I'm too cool for ya guys... my antenna is one of those short ones on the roof and it doesn't need to be lowered
__________________

denyo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
you dang 10-window guys anyways...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 10:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
5th Gear Member
 
denyo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Car: 88 325iT, 88 320i, 92 325iC, 89 190
Posts: 1,940
Photos:
denyo77 is on a distinguished road
Garage
thanks, bull, just noticed I got 10 windows...
I could put my car on top of a parking garage and claim I live in a penthouse
__________________

denyo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 10:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
do it...pix or ban...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheaply Boosting Highs & Lows in Stock E39 Stereo Eric S. 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 17 04-16-2006 08:50 PM
Radio Works But No Sound. Amp Problem? Help!! Miket Audio and Electronics 2 05-10-2005 07:19 PM
WTB:Stock E39 Radio nYcDjWiLL Classifieds Sell & Buy 0 05-04-2004 02:24 PM
WTB E36 318 Stock radio & cd changer Street Sweeper Classifieds Sell & Buy 0 04-14-2004 09:28 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.