Ipod In My Bmw - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 03:17 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
RedlinedRU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Radford, Virginia
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RedlinedRU is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to RedlinedRU
(Thread Starter)
I'm thinking about buying an ipod so i can use it in my car, but mine is a 98 e36 with an aftermarket pioneer cd deck. will the ipod be able to hook up to the RCA cable imputs in the back of my cd player? Thanks for any advice


<span style='color:green'>
AMG can't build an NA engine that can compete with M engines, so they stick in a supercharger and say their cars are faster. BMW could simply do the same, but they don't out of principle.</span>
RedlinedRU is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 04:18 PM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
if your head unit has an aux option, then for sure it will work. what pioneer deck do you have?

!
brien4787 is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 05:27 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
RedlinedRU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Radford, Virginia
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
RedlinedRU is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to RedlinedRU
(Thread Starter)
its one of the top of the line models, im not sure the # though. its got all the tv-like graphics though. I don't think it has an aux tho. I was hoping just to hook it up to the RCA's but now that you mention it, i don't think it would work without an aux input


<span style='color:green'>
AMG can't build an NA engine that can compete with M engines, so they stick in a supercharger and say their cars are faster. BMW could simply do the same, but they don't out of principle.</span>
RedlinedRU is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 05:34 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
there may be an adapter for RCAs to input through the changer controler interface or somethin like that.


Alpine just released an ipod adapeter http://www.alpine-usa.com

oh and this belongs in audio/electronics.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 05:42 PM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
that thing alpine just brought out is really stupid in my opinion. its a waste of money, and lessens what you can do.

i like to just have my ipod at hand and change thru songs, artists, ect....

plus with the regular aux/rca input cables, you can have the ipod at your hands, down by the console, up on a cradle, or just pass it around the car to your friends in back seat so if you dont care what you want to listen to at the time, they can go thru your crap and play whatever.

all that alpine thing does is let you control your ipod thru the headunit... i think all this will do is create more distraction, and will take time to figure out how to locate artists and songs.... if you are like me... and have 1000 songs, then you are screwed if you are trying to fi nd something thru the head unit...

!
brien4787 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 07:37 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
the alpine thing charges the ipod and allows full control thought the head unit. not to mention allows you to keep using your changer or other aux-ins on the system using the ai-net

I don't mess with the music much while driving. I'm sure you can pick a play list and go. i pick a disc and go. sometimes skip a track.

not to mention i wouldnt have to fumble around with the ipod. drop it. find it. and miss the track by one then the other way by one. to each their own though.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 08:16 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
JV2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
I just XM radio installed in my sony HU. Can I hook my ipod up too or have I used up all my aux ports in the back??
JV2000 is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 09-22-2004, 09:39 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hyperboimmv is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to hyperboimmv Send a message via MSN to hyperboimmv Send a message via Yahoo to hyperboimmv
Quote:
Originally posted by JV2000@Sep 22 2004, 07:16 PM
I just XM radio installed in my sony HU. Can I hook my ipod up too or have I used up all my aux ports in the back??
[snapback]197115[/snapback]
Sony HU's have an option where you can hook more inputs up. If you have UniLink, that is. http://www.xplodsony.com/products/?CATEGOR...ories&MD=XA-300, or http://www.xplodsony.com/products/?CATEGOR...ories&MD=XA-C30 may work, im not sure.

-Josh
hyperboimmv is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 09-23-2004, 12:11 AM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
you can just get any HU with an Aux input such as any alpine, then just get a normal aux cable...seriously, i wouldnt recommend spending a lot for something like the alpine thing, but do whatever you want...

!
brien4787 is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 09-24-2004, 02:20 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMW328 is an unknown quantity at this point
I had last years Pioneer top of the range head unit with a cd changer. When I got an IPod I found Pioneer do an Aux adapter for all P series headunnits which goes from the CD Changer lead on the headunit to a small box which has a cd changer port (to plug changer into) and two RCA ports. Using a standard 2 phono to 3.5mm cable I can hook my IPod in whenever I like. I changed my deck recently to an Audio Visual unit which accepts the IPod via the aux straight in. For reference the part is

http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail...xonomy_id=25-38

The other option is to get an ITrip which when within about 8m of the stereo you just tune the radio into the ipod station (e.g. 99.2 etc) and it plays via wireless link but I found it to not be great with my pioneer. It does work fine with an Alpine deck.
BMW328 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H&R Cup on an E36 Convertible RJHD3 3-Series (E36) 7 10-19-2005 01:34 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome