ipod feature in an e36? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-11-2004, 11:43 PM
1st Gear Member
 
EuroBeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jersey
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
EuroBeem is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Maybe some of you dont know, but on e46 BMW's they came out with an ipod feature where you can just plug your ipod into the glove comparment and play all your songs.

Could this feature be installed on my 97 328i or would i need to get the e46 steering wheel which allows me to control the volume and enables me to switch tracks?
EuroBeem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-11-2004, 11:46 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
No. Ipod=circa 2002. Last E36=circa 1998.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 03:29 AM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
brien4787 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 10:00 AM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
you lose much of the quality when you use one of those though. Im also moving this to audio.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 10:05 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
Alpine will be releasing an Ipod adapter for their AI enabled HUs.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 12:02 PM
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
wulley1 is an unknown quantity at this point
that would be great if they did. I have the middle fm unit listed above and think the SQ is crappy.
wulley1 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 01:00 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
it is scheduled for sometime this fall.

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=stor...ecomingthisfall

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 02:31 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
FM is shit. It's dynamic range is nowhere near CD quality.
It's probably best to get a head unit with line inputs and put a headphone jack in the glove compartment..l You'd have to controll the IPod as usual, but it'd sound much nicer.

I guess if you REALLY wanted to you could butcher up a wrecked E46, take it's steering wheel and head unit and use it's guts to run the IPod and get the audio signal directed into where the CD changer inputs go... :lol: Big mess though.


bitcore is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 02:38 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
the HU wouldn't fit in a e36 with out lots of work. If i could get my alpine to use the steering controls I'd get a newer wheel for my ride.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 07-12-2004, 11:55 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cgarjeff is an unknown quantity at this point
I have an 3e6 and an ipod, I merely use a cassette adapter. It works like a charm! No background noise at all...Of course I have to use the ipod controls, but so what...It works
Cgarjeff is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2004, 12:37 AM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
ya the FM will give you a lose of quality, but it is just another option.

!
brien4787 is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 07-13-2004, 09:41 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
no cassette player.... I don't think there is anything even in my home can can play a tape....

alpine does have line-in adapters as well.... for thoses of us with alpine HUs.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 07-15-2004, 08:21 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
gabeshmabe is an unknown quantity at this point
If you have an aftermarket headunit with an auxilary input, you can hook your ipod up to it. For about $20 parts and labor, I got BestBuy to run a wire from the headunit to my center console. I drop my ipod into the cupholder, plug it in, and I'm good to go.
gabeshmabe is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 07-15-2004, 09:20 PM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
yes thats a good solution too.

The alpine one wil also charge your ipod and i belive allow control from the HU.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Ipod to Factory Cassete/Disc Changer BMWfiend 3-Series (E36) 12 10-18-2005 03:25 PM
Ipod Integration karupspc 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 02-17-2005 10:22 AM
Ipod & Bmw Questions harpax 3-Series (E46, E90) 7 01-28-2005 10:38 AM
Ipod Adaptor For Bmw (in Canada)? iamcrom 3-Series (E46, E90) 1 10-08-2004 08:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome