Ipod in an e36? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 10:24 PM
/Banned
 
HamannM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BANNED AND OWNED
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
HamannM3 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Is it possible to integrate ipod with an e36 using an adaptive wire or such?
HamannM3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 10:29 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
Not the way the E46 can.
You could use an FM modulator for stock radios.
If you have an aftermarket deck with line inputs, you can use a headphone jack to hook it to the Ipod... That's what I would do since FM modulation severely degrades the audio clarity. there's a reudction in dynamic range, sample rate (it's actually analog), etc.

I see that you have an alpine deck with Ai-Net stuff. You can buy This and hook the unit to that instead of your Cd changer (if you have one) and then hook the Cd changer to that unit, and then you have 2 line-inputs and some more other fancy shit. (dual CD changers!)

If you dont have an alpine Cd changer, then you can go the even cheeper route and get the Ai-net to RCA line inputs for half as much


bitcore is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 10:39 PM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
I too am going to connect my Ipod to my e36.

Can't I just get some RCA cable that goes into my after market sony RCA input and connect to my ipod?

I did have a CD changer, but I took that out. So in place of the CD changer, I am thinkink that all I need to do is use the RCA inputs in the back of my HU.

What is special about: http://www.crutchfield.com/S-Kd0gyRGk3ed/c...ALAIAUX&g=50900 ???

What is that box thing? Isn't there just a regular from Ipod to RCA input cable?
If there is, then what is it called, how much are they, and where can I but them?

THANNNKS

Brien

!
brien4787 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 10:41 PM
Science Roolz!
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all SHAHAB323IS is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to SHAHAB323IS
yes, you can

buy a tape adapter,

it looks like this


you plug the heaphone plug into the headphone jack, then you put the tape in the tape deck, the tape plays, and when you turn on your ipod and play musci, you hear it out of the car speakers, i've been using one for three years in my mom's car, first with my sony walkman, then i started using it for my rio mp3 player, the quality is acctually really good, they cost i don't know like a few bucks at walmart, but you have to control the ipod normally, unlike the e46 thing where you can change songs and stuff with the wheel mounted controls, but hey it's easy for me i have the buttons memorized on my mp3 player, so i can control it just fine

2011 Mazda2
1990 Mazda Miata
SHAHAB323IS is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 10:48 PM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
M3Dude, you are please, stop..... I know that you dont know what I am talking about....

!
brien4787 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 09-13-2004, 11:14 PM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BMDub325is is an unknown quantity at this point
I do not have an auxilary input on my head unit so i am currently running a FM mod to my 20Gig Jukebox (while i save for a new head unit). Sound is good some days and bad some days. Auxilary input is the way to go but if you have to then go with the fm mod there are a few adjustments to get rid of most of the hum on the fm mod and also in the player itself. Another thing, recording at a higher bit rate is important when using in a vehicle because you hear the full array of sound. I haven't used a cd in over a year.

92' 626 ES
88' Mazda Truck
92' VW passaat (sold)
93' BMW 325is
86' BMW 318is
<img src='http://www.geocities.com/bmdub325is/images/current/signaturefinal2.JPG' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
<a href='http://www.geocities.com/bmdub325is' target='_blank'>***MY E36 BUILDUP PAGE***</a>
BMDub325is is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 12:34 AM
quality
 
Delmarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute Delmarco has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
For $30 and a LOT less time, you can get an I-Trip for your Ipod, or a FM transmitter for whatever you got ,and play your tunes thru your FM dial.

You'll get radio quality sound though, but still loud and clear if you place the transmitter near your console area. It even works well from the backseat of your car.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0479_U6BA_437.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	88.2 KB
ID:	12163  

Delmarco is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 01:50 AM
5th Gear Member
 
brien4787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: OC, Cal.
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
brien4787 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to brien4787
FM tuners arnt great. I already have one. Need to find the cables that work best for AUX input.

!
brien4787 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 09-14-2004, 10:48 AM
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 2,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
007ben is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 007ben Send a message via Yahoo to 007ben
alipne will be releasing a controller for Ipods so they can be controlled via headunit and be charged too.

2008 128i Jetblack
007ben is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Ipod to Factory Cassete/Disc Changer BMWfiend 3-Series (E36) 12 10-18-2005 04:25 PM
Ipod Integration karupspc 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 02-17-2005 11:22 AM
Ipod & Bmw Questions harpax 3-Series (E46, E90) 7 01-28-2005 11:38 AM
Ipod, Alpine Mp3 Changer, And The Mini Cooper Hu cptDean Audio and Electronics 4 09-28-2004 03:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome