how do i take out my head unit in a 90 750il - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-14-2007, 11:05 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
geo7inbodydrop is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
how do i take out my head unit in a 90 750il

i trying to take out my headunit in my 1990 750.can anyone help me out please.
geo7inbodydrop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-22-2007, 07:26 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Its actually a 5 sided torx/allen style tool behind the two little door flaps on either side of the radio. You unscrew them counter-clockwise and then the radio will slide right out. If you are putting an aftermarket radio back in I STRONGLY recommend the wiring harness. It makes your install VERY easy. It should be under 20 bucks at most car audio shops. Hope that helps...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-23-2007, 05:02 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
geo7inbodydrop is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
thanks alot man
geo7inbodydrop is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-23-2007, 05:09 PM
4th Gear Member
 
PrInG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow. NE ohio.
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PrInG has a spectacular aura about PrInG has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to PrInG
sorry to kinda whore a little bit.. but I bought a headunit to put in my 95 m3. Will your average pioneer headunit fit in it. It is the one with the OEL display. not the best but it is nice. Just wondering if I'm going to have to by some sort of adapter bracket. And about the wiring harness.. Do you think just about any audio place will have the right one.?



TO HONOR: Get Honor Stay Honor if You Can't Come in Her Come Honor.


"its not banana yellow but its not golden its just that perfect creamy german goodness"

- Bow
PrInG is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 05-23-2007, 09:47 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Yup should slide right in, no kit necessary. The harness is a Metra part # 70-8590 for most all non-amped headunits. Being an M3 its probably amped. You need a 70-8591 to integrate the factory amps. Holla if you need some help...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 11:23 PM
Need help with head unit problem tbhtjd Audio and Electronics 3 06-14-2006 06:15 AM
CD changer compatibility with aftermarket Head Unit Teh Prof Audio and Electronics 2 11-07-2005 06:22 AM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-06-2005 12:36 AM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 12:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome