How To Access Stock Amp - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-19-2005, 09:31 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
lttlwd04 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Whatsup. I am a newbie bimmer as I just acquired my sister's '91 318is 2 dr. I love it and I have but in all new speakers, but i get barely any volume from the stock system so I want to buy a new head unit and replace the stock amp. The only problem is that I know that the ampo is in the trunk somewhere, but I don't where exactly or how to get to it. please tell me the easiest way to get to it and any amp replacement suggestions. thanks

Basically, how do i get to the stock amp?
lttlwd04 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-20-2005, 05:11 AM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BADGER is an unknown quantity at this point
You're better off just bypassing it and wiring the new amp to your trunk or something.
BADGER is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-20-2005, 03:33 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
lttlwd04 is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally posted by BADGER@Apr 20 2005, 06:11 AM
You're better off just bypassing it and wiring the new amp to your trunk or something.
[snapback]335273[/snapback]
ok, but how do i get to the stock amp anyway?
lttlwd04 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-20-2005, 07:56 PM
1st Gear Member
 
polaris448's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
polaris448 is an unknown quantity at this point
I agree with bagder but it is on the left (driver's side) of the trunk behind the stiff carpet. In my 97', it is directly behind the prewired caps.
polaris448 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-20-2005, 09:43 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
most are behind there, being a 318, some may not have one at all, and all the power comes from the headunit.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2005, 02:21 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ADS328 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by lttlwd04@Apr 19 2005, 07:31 PM
Whatsup. I am a newbie bimmer as I just acquired my sister's '91 318is 2 dr. I love it and I have but in all new speakers, but i get barely any volume from the stock system so I want to buy a new head unit and replace the stock amp. The only problem is that I know that the ampo is in the trunk somewhere, but I don't where exactly or how to get to it. please tell me the easiest way to get to it and any amp replacement suggestions. thanks

Basically, how do i get to the stock amp?
[snapback]335135[/snapback]
as noted earlier, it's mounted behind the left trunk panel, just behind the wheelwell. it's tiny.

if you're keeping the stock head unit and only replacing the amp, get a pair of Monster Cable RX100 line-level converters from Bavarian Soundwerks They sell high-end audio gear at very reasonable prices. The line-level converters are a breeze to install -- just splice them into the factory harness -- and eliminate any noise in the system.

<span style='color:blue'>The ONLY place to go for high-end audio equipment for your E36 or E46 BMW is <span style='font-size:11pt;line-height:100%'><a href='http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/index.php' target='_blank'><span style='color:red'>Bavarian Soundwerks</span></a></span> BMW enthusiasts who also are audiophiles. They're the best! (No, I do not work for them, nor am I affiliated with them in any way.)</span>
ADS328 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
AMP Power cable! 316i e36 94 Butterfingers Audio and Electronics 1 10-09-2005 08:44 PM
How do you install amp and subs to a stock headunit? t5sesco Audio and Electronics 2 09-16-2005 01:26 AM
Back To Stock Sale Look!! M3 Parts bigbris1 OEM Parts 29 07-14-2005 12:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome