Hooking Up A Sub Woofer - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-26-2005, 11:07 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hocuzanden is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
i have a 10" sub lying in my room that i feel like hooking up. is there an output to an amplifier on the factory deck? or do i need to buy an aftermarket deck. i am well aware that an aftermarket would have better sound, but that's not my intention. i just want to use what i have lying around for as little money as possible. any help would be great! thanks...

-zach
hocuzanden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-26-2005, 11:38 PM
Power Shifting
 
Cruzin 323is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carle Place, NY
Posts: 3,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cruzin 323is is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Cruzin 323is
i don't think there is rca in/out puts on the back of a factory radio

-SOLD..
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2229108/1 *UPDATED 8.25.06*
R.I.P Fast 6


stuff for sale on my e36.. CHeck it out!
http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/aft...e36-49128.html
Cruzin 323is is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 06:45 AM
Been here a while.
 
97alpineM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all 97alpineM3 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to 97alpineM3 Send a message via MSN to 97alpineM3
Moving... to the audio forum...

Les


1997 E36 M3 1990 E30 325i
97alpineM3 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 07:59 AM
PMB
1st Gear Member
 
PMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
PMB is an unknown quantity at this point
If you have a line level amp hanging around that ccan take a speaker level input (or use a converter) you could drive the sub off the rear speakers signal. Remote amp switch on is possible from the back of the stock deck.

The stock deck is better than you may think. The weak link is the speakers.
PMB is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 08:49 AM
4th Gear Member
 
93 325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
93 325i is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to 93 325i
They sell RCA inputs that you attach to the rear speaker wires. Then run the RCA cables from the amp to this input box. It works and it's cheap

Complete mod list and pics:

My 1993 325i
93 325i is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 04:55 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hocuzanden is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
how would it work then? sorry, i'm slow...so from the rear speaker-->RCA thing-->amp-->sub? is that the order for it? thanks again
hocuzanden is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 04:57 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hocuzanden is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
oh yeah, i have my own amp too, so does that change things?
hocuzanden is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 10:15 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
That is pretty much the order. A lot of amplifiers have that line level converter built-in. The amps that have that, does the conversion electronically, instead of passively. The result is a bit better/cleaner sounding signal. What kind of amp do you have, and does it have a "speaker level", "high input", or some other place for a speaker level signal (not the RCAs) to hook to?

If your amp doesnt have that then you will have to get the converter. You cant just splice a set of RCA cables into your amp, it will destroy the input section of it. They are cheap (15-30), and do me a favor, and buy the 30 dollar one. The cheaper ones will work, but have very poor quality.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 04-27-2005, 11:09 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hocuzanden is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
i have a 10" nakamichi subwoofer and an aura force 250-A amp. on one side there is a power in with ground, REM (idk what that is), and +12V; a 30A fuse; and a "bridged" speaker output with L and R, but there are four connections (i'm guessing for two separate subs?). and on the opposite side of the amp is an RCA "low imput" with L and R; a level dial; and something for the crossover--a three position switch with low, flat and high; and another dial with frequency (50Hz-200Hz); and one more dial for bass boost (55Hz) form 0dB to +8dB.

is this a good amp, cause i really have no idea. all i'm looking for is to enhance my listening experience, not have the best system in the world.

thanks for the help. i hope i'm not wasting your time with what i'm sure seem like non-issues.

-zach
hocuzanden is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 04-28-2005, 08:29 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Quote:
Originally posted by hocuzanden@Apr 27 2005, 10:09 PM
i have a 10" nakamichi subwoofer and an aura force 250-A amp. on one side there is a power in with ground, REM (idk what that is), and +12V; a 30A fuse; and a "bridged" speaker output with L and R, but there are four connections (i'm guessing for two separate subs?). and on the opposite side of the amp is an RCA "low imput" with L and R; a level dial; and something for the crossover--a three position switch with low, flat and high; and another dial with frequency (50Hz-200Hz); and one more dial for bass boost (55Hz) form 0dB to +8dB.

is this a good amp, cause i really have no idea. all i'm looking for is to enhance my listening experience, not have the best system in the world.

thanks for the help. i hope i'm not wasting your time with what i'm sure seem like non-issues.

-zach
[snapback]338633[/snapback]
I'm not sure of the quality of the amplifier, but it should work. It sounds to me like you are just starting out. The best thing to do for now is to head to an audio store you can trust, tell them you need an amp install kit. This kit will include a set of RCA cables, power, ground, fuse holder, etc. and a relatively easy set of instructions to follow. You will also need a line level convertor.

There will probably be a number of sizes to choose from. An 8 ga. kit is what you need. It may be a tad bigger than what you need for that amplifier, but you wont have to buy it again when you want to upgrade the amplifier later on down the road.

First things first, dont ever install one of these without the included fuse holder. This is REALLY cheap insurance for you car. If something happens to the wire, it will just blow the fuse. Without the fuse, the wire can actually get hot enough to burn your carpet, possibly even catch on fire.

The main power wire will go to the positive post on the battery. AS CLOSE TO THE BATTERY AS POSSIBLE, install the fuse holder. On the back side of the fuse, run it to the amplifiers positive lead (12V, BATT, etc.).

The ground needs to be a short as possible, and you probably want to scrape some paint away from a hidden spot and screw the ground wire down. Make sure there is nothing underneath, that you will be drilling through. Dont use a factory bolt, unless it has its own ground wires coming off of it. Any other bolts are probably painted, or have a sealer on the threads that wont allow a good ground through. This is where the ground screw on your amplifier goes.

The REM (or remote) lead goes to a place in the fuse panel that turns on/off with the key. An aftermarket radio has a blue/white wire (typically) that turns on/off with the radio. The factory radio has this as well, but I dont like using that, because your amplifier may or may not draw too much current for that circuit on the factory radio.

Whatever line level convertor that shop carries will have instructions. If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Look at the back of the speaker and see if says something about 4 ohms (not dual 4 ohms, or 2). If it is you can use the bridged output of the amp, and dont hook anything to the remaining 2 speaker leads. If it is 2ohms, hook it to either the left or the right channels (it doesnt matter which one). Set the crossover to about 80hz, and the gain to about 2/3. Thats kind of a good start and you can fine tune it from there.

Hope that helps.....



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 04-28-2005, 11:35 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hocuzanden is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
thanks for the help. a little bit complicated, but i think i might be able to manage. if need be i can call in my friend for help, he works and circuit city. he's also gonna get me the stuff i need, like the converter and all the wires and stuff. but i still need to build my box. thanks again for all the great help.
hocuzanden is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 05-04-2005, 12:58 PM
Neutral Member
 
xorbital0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nueva york
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
xorbital0 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to xorbital0
get that Rca converter and tap the rear speakers behind the headrests or seats inthe back, PIM me fordetails.... this is what i did before i got my sony headunit ....
xorbital0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Result Of Hooking Up The Horn To The Brakes... e36_m3_Turbo Video Vault 8 01-31-2005 12:10 AM
Looking For Sub Woofer Install Ideas On An E36 mjolnir2k Audio and Electronics 13 11-11-2004 04:07 PM
Blaupunkt Flat Sub Woofer? rsn48 Audio and Electronics 1 10-07-2004 03:09 PM
hooking a sub amp up in a 97 328is LIMaxin Audio and Electronics 7 08-19-2004 10:53 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome