Hooking up my subs - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 07-06-2004, 08:15 PM
Fox
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Fox is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Ok so im new to this whole... I put money where my ears are skit.

So I came home today, bought an Alpine D class amp, its a MRP-M350. 200W x1 RMS at 4 ohms. Im powering 2 sony 8in subs.

Ok so im wiring it up now. Im using some monster XP audio cable to go from the amp to the speakers. What do i need to use to go from the battery to the amp though? The guy said 4 gauge, but do I really need to go that big, im planning on using 8 gauge. And do I need to use just as large of a wire on the ground side?

<span style='font-family:Geneva'><span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:red'>Fox</span></span> <span style='color:gray'>the Pirate</span>
Diplomacy is saying &quot;nice doggy&quot; until you find a rock.</span>

I live my life one quarter mile at a time, and for those 23 or more seconds I'm free.
Fox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 07-06-2004, 08:49 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Hey der fox. Shot any good videos lately? No, you don't need 4AGU, 8 will work fine.

I would use the same size ground as power wire.

jllphan is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 07-07-2004, 04:44 PM
4th Gear Member
 
BlantonG13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
BlantonG13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to BlantonG13
8 ga. will work fine for power and ground

1996 318i
5 Speed Manual

Alpine CDA-7895 Head Unit
12&quot; Alpine Type-R, sealed box
Pioneer 400w amp for $20 at a yard sale (to replace my fried MRV-1507)
Infinity Kappa 4&quot; 2-way speakers(rear)
Infinity Kappa 5.25&quot; component speakers(front)
Debaffled airbox, K&amp;N filter
Tracked Mud on carpets
Shampooed and cleaned carpets
BlantonG13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harmon Kardon -- Location Of Subs? tedmacwpg Audio and Electronics 2 07-18-2005 06:06 AM
hooking car audio subs to a home system trinidon2k Audio and Electronics 8 08-02-2004 12:04 PM
Help with Subs Fox Audio and Electronics 8 07-12-2004 03:13 PM
Audiobahn subs Wurzig-Drei Audio and Electronics 1 05-31-2004 08:28 AM
Dual sub box custom made for BMW & subs El Presidente Classifieds Sell & Buy 17 02-01-2004 02:05 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome