hk amp bad? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 11-15-2005, 04:03 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: woodstock, GA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bbullet421 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to bbullet421
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy hk amp bad?

I replaced my stock HU with an Alpine cda-9831 about a year ago. I also have a n alpine sub and amp connected. Today, I seem to have lost the signal or power going to the factory amp. The sub is still putting out, but I am hearing nothing out of the other speakers. I checked the wiring from the HU to the wiring harness<no loose wires> How can I check to see if I have blown/burnt the stock amp or if its just a signal problem? Also I checked the 'radio' fuse under the hood<ok> Any ideas?
bbullet421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 11-15-2005, 09:28 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
check the power output of the radio (hook up a known good speaker to the speaker outputs). this will let you know if the Alpine's speaker outputs are working or not. if this is good, the stock amp may be bad. im not sure if a quick and easy way to check it. My advice would be to just bypass it if the speaker outputs still work. Depending what year your car is it should perform a little better than the stock amp. You will need some sort of crossover to remove the bass frequencies from the factory speakers, or they wont last long.

hope that helps...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
Bad idle when Engine is HOT only!! Paraklas 3-Series (E21, E30) 0 11-14-2005 03:04 PM
AMP Power cable! 316i e36 94 Butterfingers Audio and Electronics 1 10-09-2005 08:44 PM
How do you install amp and subs to a stock headunit? t5sesco Audio and Electronics 2 09-16-2005 01:26 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome