Head Unit Problems - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2005, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
i recently installed a kenwood mpv5025 headunit into my 1994 325is and im having a problem with playing cds. The radio works perfectly but when i try to play a cd the unit looks like its reading the disc but nothings playing.. do you guys have any suggestions for me? is there something i may have overlooked when installing the harness?

i guess the only good thing right now is the orange matches the interior perfectly.
waleckaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2005, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Car:
Posts: 3,441
Photos:
jllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Yes it does (match the interior), good call on the deck. When you put a CD in, do you get the counter on the display and just no audio, or will it not even read the disc? Are you using store bought CD's or your own CD-R's?
__________________
jllphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
it appears to read the cd and im getting the counter and track number; it even displays the song name and artist.
ive used both store bought cds as well as my own cd-r's.
waleckaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Car:
Posts: 3,441
Photos:
jllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Ok cool, so everything is working fine you just aren't getting any audio. You do with the radio but not CD's.

If that's the case, it's because you didn't hook up the oem amp. Take the deck back out, and twist both the blue and blue/white lead (Kenwood wiring harness) together, and reattach. You should be good then.
__________________
jllphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Car:
Posts: 11
Photos:
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
problem solved. you are the man. thanks for all your help.
waleckaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 12:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
n00b
 
Crispy222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, MN
Car:
Posts: 30
Photos:
Crispy222 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Crispy222 Send a message via Yahoo to Crispy222
Yea I figured out that same problem when I put my deck in. Both OEM amp and Radio booster.

Chris
__________________
VIP Helen '95 325IS 5sp T-boned
Viva la Victoria '96 328IS 5sp w/ some Dinan
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/752493' target='_blank'>Car Domain Site</a>
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/8/web/752000-752999/752493_2_full.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Crusin w/ an e46 M3 at 145 on the dial and revs to spare. Saftey with a V1
Crispy222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Car:
Posts: 55
Photos:
Darkmage is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Crispy222@Jan 19 2005, 12:54 AM
Yea I figured out that same problem when I put my deck in. Both OEM amp and Radio booster.

Chris
[snapback]274659[/snapback]
ah, i installed my head unit a week ago and had the same problem.
gonna go and try and fix it now
__________________
<img src='http://uploads.blizzpub.net/uploads/darkmage._SIG.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Darkmage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
The Sony's and Kenwood's have a power amplifier (works with radio and CD) wire and a power antenna wire (supposed to raise/lower the antenna), this is a very common mistake. I am not sure tying both together is a good idea, they are 2 separate circuits, designed for different things. If it works, thats great, but you should be able to unhook (and tape off) the power antenna wire (typically blue with no stripe), and it will still work like it does now. Hope this helps...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Car:
Posts: 3,441
Photos:
jllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Eh, it really doesn't matter. It's not like the two combined would send 15 volts or anything. Technically you don't have to connect the power antenna lead (as we don't have those), but it's just a means of sending a good hot signal to the oem amp.
__________________
jllphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 11:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
You're right, its still only going to be 12 volts, but when the CD is being listened to and the power antenna lead is supposed to not have power on that blue wire, the blue-wht is supplying power back into the radio (which is supposed to be an output). I am not sure if it would ever do any damage, I just lean to the cautious side.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 11:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Car:
Posts: 5
Photos:
Builder is an unknown quantity at this point
Your problem is you hooked the kenwoods power anttenna to the cars antenna circuit. So when you stick in the cd the antenna retracts and shuts off the amp. You need to the connect wire marked remote of the kenwood to the power ant wire on the car. The radio antenna will not retract when you play CD's but now you will at least be able to hear the cd
Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
CD changer compatibility with aftermarket Head Unit Teh Prof Audio and Electronics 2 11-07-2005 05:22 AM
E36 Overheating / Head Problems Sean Duggan 3-Series (E36) 7 10-05-2005 05:45 AM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 11:50 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.