Head Unit Problems - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 01-18-2005, 05:28 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
i recently installed a kenwood mpv5025 headunit into my 1994 325is and im having a problem with playing cds. The radio works perfectly but when i try to play a cd the unit looks like its reading the disc but nothings playing.. do you guys have any suggestions for me? is there something i may have overlooked when installing the harness?

i guess the only good thing right now is the orange matches the interior perfectly.
waleckaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 01-18-2005, 05:33 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Yes it does (match the interior), good call on the deck. When you put a CD in, do you get the counter on the display and just no audio, or will it not even read the disc? Are you using store bought CD's or your own CD-R's?

jllphan is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 01-18-2005, 06:11 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
it appears to read the cd and im getting the counter and track number; it even displays the song name and artist.
ive used both store bought cds as well as my own cd-r's.
waleckaa is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 01-18-2005, 06:31 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Ok cool, so everything is working fine you just aren't getting any audio. You do with the radio but not CD's.

If that's the case, it's because you didn't hook up the oem amp. Take the deck back out, and twist both the blue and blue/white lead (Kenwood wiring harness) together, and reattach. You should be good then.

jllphan is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 01-18-2005, 07:00 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
waleckaa is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
problem solved. you are the man. thanks for all your help.
waleckaa is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 01-19-2005, 12:54 AM
n00b
 
Crispy222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Crispy222 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Crispy222 Send a message via Yahoo to Crispy222
Yea I figured out that same problem when I put my deck in. Both OEM amp and Radio booster.

Chris

VIP Helen '95 325IS 5sp T-boned
Viva la Victoria '96 328IS 5sp w/ some Dinan
<a href='http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/752493' target='_blank'>Car Domain Site</a>
<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/8/web/752000-752999/752493_2_full.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Crusin w/ an e46 M3 at 145 on the dial and revs to spare. Saftey with a V1
Crispy222 is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2005, 09:38 AM
Neutral Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Darkmage is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Crispy222@Jan 19 2005, 12:54 AM
Yea I figured out that same problem when I put my deck in. Both OEM amp and Radio booster.

Chris
[snapback]274659[/snapback]
ah, i installed my head unit a week ago and had the same problem.
gonna go and try and fix it now

<img src='http://uploads.blizzpub.net/uploads/darkmage._SIG.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
Darkmage is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 09:41 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
The Sony's and Kenwood's have a power amplifier (works with radio and CD) wire and a power antenna wire (supposed to raise/lower the antenna), this is a very common mistake. I am not sure tying both together is a good idea, they are 2 separate circuits, designed for different things. If it works, thats great, but you should be able to unhook (and tape off) the power antenna wire (typically blue with no stripe), and it will still work like it does now. Hope this helps...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 10:56 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Eh, it really doesn't matter. It's not like the two combined would send 15 volts or anything. Technically you don't have to connect the power antenna lead (as we don't have those), but it's just a means of sending a good hot signal to the oem amp.

jllphan is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 11:10 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
You're right, its still only going to be 12 volts, but when the CD is being listened to and the power antenna lead is supposed to not have power on that blue wire, the blue-wht is supplying power back into the radio (which is supposed to be an output). I am not sure if it would ever do any damage, I just lean to the cautious side.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 01-27-2005, 11:32 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Builder is an unknown quantity at this point
Your problem is you hooked the kenwoods power anttenna to the cars antenna circuit. So when you stick in the cd the antenna retracts and shuts off the amp. You need to the connect wire marked remote of the kenwood to the power ant wire on the car. The radio antenna will not retract when you play CD's but now you will at least be able to hear the cd
Builder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
CD changer compatibility with aftermarket Head Unit Teh Prof Audio and Electronics 2 11-07-2005 05:22 AM
E36 Overheating / Head Problems Sean Duggan 3-Series (E36) 7 10-05-2005 05:45 AM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 11:50 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome