Head Unit Has Power , But No Sound! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 08:25 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmer_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmer_boy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to bimmer_boy
(Thread Starter)
I just installed a Alpine 9831 into my bmw 325i and it powers up perfect, but puts out no sound at all!

I have the wiring harness and antenna adapter installed, everything seems to be hooked up fine.

I'm confused. Anyone have any clue of what I'm doing wrong?

The only unused wire on the harness is the light blue one...

BLACK 1995 BMW E36 325i
<u>Dinan</u> Performance Software - SOLD!
High-flow intake w/ Green Performance Filter
17 x 8.5 BMW Style 44 Rims
<u>Pirelli</u> P6 tires 235/45/17
M3 Spoiler
Clear Tail Lights, Corners, and Side markers
20% Tint all around
Sylvania Silverstar Bulbs
<u>Alpine</u> 9831 MP3/CD Player
bimmer_boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 08:31 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
And there's your problem. You have to make sure your remote wire is connected to the amp turn on lead. Run your power antenna lead and your amp turn on lead together. SHould be fine after that.

jllphan is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 09:13 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmer_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmer_boy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to bimmer_boy
(Thread Starter)
What does the amp lead look like? The only other wires not hooked up coming from the Alpine harness are a light blue and blue with black stripe. I think those are speaker wires. Also, one pink wire. The pink wire, eh?

BLACK 1995 BMW E36 325i
<u>Dinan</u> Performance Software - SOLD!
High-flow intake w/ Green Performance Filter
17 x 8.5 BMW Style 44 Rims
<u>Pirelli</u> P6 tires 235/45/17
M3 Spoiler
Clear Tail Lights, Corners, and Side markers
20% Tint all around
Sylvania Silverstar Bulbs
<u>Alpine</u> 9831 MP3/CD Player
bimmer_boy is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 09:33 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
You kids don't read manuals do you :P

The harness crutchfield gave you should have a lead labeled "amp turn on" or something to that effect. that wire should be connected to both the power antenae wire and the amp turn on/remote wire on the Alpine harness. You just need to make sure that those two wires ultimately are linked to the amp turn on lead in the BMW harness (#16 on the below diagram {top left})....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	e36_pinouts.gif
Views:	922
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	15982  

jllphan is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 09:35 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
so to sum up....

pwr ant. wire and remote turn on------>amp turn on----->pin hole #16

(on the Alpine harness) (crutchfield harness) (harness plug in car)

jllphan is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 12-30-2004, 10:18 PM
4th Gear Member
 
bimmer_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bimmer_boy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to bimmer_boy
(Thread Starter)
Haha! Thanks a lot man. It's all working wonderfully now. Now I just have to learn all the features! lol ...

BLACK 1995 BMW E36 325i
<u>Dinan</u> Performance Software - SOLD!
High-flow intake w/ Green Performance Filter
17 x 8.5 BMW Style 44 Rims
<u>Pirelli</u> P6 tires 235/45/17
M3 Spoiler
Clear Tail Lights, Corners, and Side markers
20% Tint all around
Sylvania Silverstar Bulbs
<u>Alpine</u> 9831 MP3/CD Player
bimmer_boy is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 12-31-2004, 01:56 AM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan

jllphan is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 01-04-2005, 01:42 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
YoungExec728 is an unknown quantity at this point
haha!! this tread gave me a good laugh.

Yes you need to turn on the amp to get sound. Much sarcasim intended

<img src='http://memimage.cardomain.net/member_images/9/web/741000-741999/741934_9_full.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
JC Chip * Cosmos Racing CAI * UUC System U * UUC Underdrive Pulleys * Fan Delete * UUC Sachs Stage 4 Suspension * Sway Barbarians * Racing Dynamics Front strut bar * X-Brace * Front Camber Plates * UUC TME * BBS 18x8.5 * 235/40/18 Yokohama AVS Sport * F&amp;R Zimmerman X-Drilled Rotors * SS Brake Lines * Rouge RSM w/enforcers * Clears all around * SilverStars * Pioneer Avic N-1 * Pioneer 6 Disc Changer * JL 450/4 and 1000/1 Amplifiers * 2 JL 12&quot; W6V2 * Diamond Audio Hexs 6.5&quot; in kick panel * MB Quart Premiums 4&quot; in Rear * Infinity Kappa 3.5&quot; in door * Batcap 400 * Optima Yellow Top
YoungExec728 is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 07:10 PM
Neutral Member
 
bitchincamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitchincamaro is an unknown quantity at this point
I just got an Alpine 9835, and when i wired it up, i had sound for the tuner function, but not for cd or my ipod input....would this be the same problem? I wouldn't think so because i had sound for the radio.

I sent the thing back to the guy i bought it from and am getting another... was it really ok? I messed around with that thing forever.
bitchincamaro is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 10:05 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
mattster2002 is an unknown quantity at this point
Yes. Make sure you hooked up the damn amp turn on cable (remote). Then your set!!!!
mattster2002 is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 10:49 PM
Neutral Member
 
bitchincamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitchincamaro is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by mattster2002@Jan 9 2005, 10:05 PM
Yes. Make sure you hooked up the damn amp turn on cable (remote). Then your set!!!!
[snapback]267790[/snapback]
why would the radio work and not the cd and aux functions? I could listen to the radio, but the other functions did not output sound.
bitchincamaro is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 11:03 PM
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Because you were using the power antenna lead, not the remote lead for the factory amp. Two different voltage outputs. Oh well, when you get it back, just twist the remote wire and the antenna lead from the deck's harness and you'll be all set

jllphan is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 09:14 PM
Neutral Member
 
bitchincamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitchincamaro is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by jllphan@Jan 9 2005, 11:03 PM
Because you were using the power antenna lead, not the remote lead for the factory amp. Two different voltage outputs. Oh well, when you get it back, just twist the remote wire and the antenna lead from the deck's harness and you'll be all set
[snapback]267858[/snapback]

damn i feel like an ass. I always think i know everything, being a DIY guy. oh well! ha! You are the reason these forums are so great. Thanks man.
bitchincamaro is offline  
#14 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 09:28 PM
5th Gear Member
 
Rooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Rooz is an unknown quantity at this point
lol, you guys are a trip, lol I'll have to concure with you YoungExec728


VIEW MOD LIST & PICS
I am worth $2,010,238 on HumanForSale.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg
Umnitza now provides a mechanic to install all parts ordered right in the box! It's their new "Total customer service program" that will eliminate all the haters and keep incompetents from breaking shit and blaming the vendor! When you are all set simply call INS and they will pick him up free of charge.
Rooz is offline  
#15 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 10:20 PM
Neutral Member
 
bitchincamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitchincamaro is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Rooz@Jan 10 2005, 09:28 PM
lol, you guys are a trip, lol I'll have to concure with you Bimmer_boy
[snapback]268591[/snapback]
WTF are you talking about?
bitchincamaro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM
Head Unit Install Complete On 1987 L6 Builder Audio and Electronics 1 01-27-2005 05:00 PM
OEM changer and head unit mystery BobCT Audio and Electronics 4 08-04-2004 11:50 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome