Getting though firewall - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2003, 08:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Wurzig-Drei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sussex
Car:
Posts: 209
Photos:
Wurzig-Drei is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Wurzig-Drei
I have a 1985 528e, and am in the process of installing an amp. I have done it before but in a honda. I was wondering if anyone knew where to go though the firewall to run the power cable. Also when i installed the head unit, there were no wires for the rear speakers. Are the rear speakers spliced into the front ones or what is going on. Thanks for any help.
__________________
Under construction
Wurzig-Drei is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2003, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
not too familiar with the 528, but my guess would be somewehre along the firewall on the passenger side. If your car is lacking speaker wires, it is becuase they have been cut.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
Scarface's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jacksonville, AL
Car:
Posts: 569
Photos:
Scarface is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Scarface
If you can't find a hole, make one, I have had to drill through the firewall numerous times...As far as the speaker wires, hmmm if there are no wires up front or they are spliced into the front ones, you may have a common ground system, which means running an aftermarket radio will require running new speaker wires from the new head unit to all speakers in the car..
__________________
-1998 BMW 540i6(Axis Penta 20's,M5 shadow grilles,trunk lip,led tails,oem front lip,PIAA lighting)
-2002 Cadillac Escalade(Zinik Luina 22's,OEM HID upgrade)
Scarface is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rear firewall uglydumbguy 3-Series (E36) 1 03-27-2004 02:06 PM
getting through the firewall mosguido Audio and Electronics 2 01-27-2004 09:10 PM
Slave Cylinder Bleeding Help BmWNoobie 3-Series (E21, E30) 5 12-13-2003 07:32 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.