e39 factory amp - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2008, 03:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: so cal
Car: 2000 e39
Posts: 6
Photos:
kingnuts is on a distinguished road
e39 factory amp

would anyone have the wiring diagram for the factory amp?
i plan on keeping factory HU, and just change amp to new aftermarket unit and replace factory speakers with components. also i was told the factory amplifier has a built in crossover for each channel? if so how can i use crossover that came with component speakers? hence me changing out factory amplifier. i know it seems im asking alot but looks like i found beemer paradise.. please help..
kingnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2010, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: May 2009
Car:
Posts: 2
Photos:
rbennett15 is on a distinguished road
i believe this should help you out im doing the same thing but replacing the headunit too:

http://www.bmwtips.com/tipsntricks/t...ereowiring.pdf
rbennett15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Car:
Posts: 9
Photos:
Head_Unit is on a distinguished road
Which factory head unit do you have? Why do you want to keep it? (OK but not great, and not a good match to an aftermarket amp).

You're much better off with an aftermarket head. I changed to an iPod-specific Alpine, oh so happy.

The only drawback is your personal opinion about the cosmetics. But the Alpine had orange lights, anyway

Ah, also, WHAT amp do you have? Do you have DSP? Premium Sound? Subwoofers? That makes a difference about changing stuff around. Somehow you do need a crossover if you change the amp, including to the mid and tweeter. Some years, those were pretty lousy, but tough to change out without big cosmetic work.
Head_Unit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
'05 E46 Non HK Amp or No Amp JaxonsRide Audio and Electronics 1 02-11-2007 07:18 AM
Factory amp can it be adjusted? crazy91318 Audio and Electronics 3 08-26-2006 05:36 AM
Sirus and E39 w\ Factory Tape Deck mshume 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 2 12-30-2005 09:19 PM
Cd Changer Adapability nookatee Audio and Electronics 5 02-05-2005 11:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.