E36 Head Unit connections - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 03-29-2004, 06:36 AM
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Morpheous is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hi,

I've got an E36 BMW Coupe (1998) here in the UK and would like to install an external AMP. I'm totally new to this and I gather this has probably been mentioned enough times, but unfortunately I cant seem to find much descriptions on the web (and some sites are barred from work!). I wish to keep the standard BMW RDS Head Unit and possibly connect the AMP.

Is this possible? How about the speaker connections? I already have a BMW CD Changer in place in the boot (trunk).

Cheers for your help guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 03-29-2004, 12:10 PM
WOT in Reverse

jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute jllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
If your car's electrical plumbing is the same as the NA cars (which i'm sure it is) then check the thread i just posted here

#3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 05:00 AM
n00b

Morpheous is an unknown quantity at this point
(Thread Starter)
Hi,

many thanks for the reply. In your post to the other member you mentioned a factory amp. I didnt know there was one. Is this located in the boot (trunk)? Would I potentially need to run any cabling to the front console or could I just hook everything up to the cabling in the factory amp?