Do I need an amp to run a bass tube? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2004, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
n00b

Car:
Photos:
Leicesterboy15 is an unknown quantity at this point
Hi guys

this may be a really silly question but I am new to this ICE stuff.

I have a sub out and a sub control on my head unit so do I still need a seperate amp to run a bass tube or can I just plug it directly into the head unit?

If I do have to use an amp, is it best to use the pre-out or the sub-out to run the bass tube? (I would prefer a sub box but I have been given a bass tube and figured it would be a good starting point).

Thanks guys
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2004, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!

Car: 2000 M5
Photos:
lwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond reputelwebb12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to lwebb12 Send a message via Yahoo to lwebb12
it depends. if you have RCA inputs on the bass tube than most likely it has an amplifier on it. how ever if it just has speaker wire input terminal than you will need an amp. what model is it anyway?