Defeating the Noise beast! - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-15-2006, 10:33 AM
~JT
n00b

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
~JT is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Post Defeating the Noise beast!

I am a newbie here...just bought a 98 328iC and I have been reading up so I can start my install on my BMW. I was a car stereo installer for 10 years was deep into the car stereo world on a technical level. I have designed and built numerous amplifiers and have a degree in electrical engineering. I have a vast amount of knowledge on installs and I am ready to contribute

So...thought I would kick out a few secrets to give something back!

Lets start with noise:

The biggest problem in car stereo is noise. To start we are dealing with an extremely noisy power source...the evil alternator : ! To make things worse we have all kinds of unprotected motors and relays that are not filtered adding to the mix. To put the icing on the cake they all use a common grounding source...the frame...creating multiple ground paths that cross everywhere.

All devices in a factory car have a switching power supply...the underlying purpose in a switching power supply is to completely isolate the device from it's power source and to insure that the power output never varies even if the input falls below the required voltage it needs to operate. Car amplifiers and most all high end audio devices have them so they are protected as well...so where does the noise come from? The RCA's!

The end all cure is to use fiber optics...but this isn't available on budget systems so we'll keep our scope on RCA's. There are several methods to reduce or eliminate noise from the RCA's.