BMW Werkz banner

Cd Changer Adapability

12K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  da_bull 
#1 ·
Hello all,
I"m new to this forum and, actually, I'm new to the world of BMWs. I just recently bought my first over the weekend. 1993 325i. I think this site will be very helpful. My first post is about buying a new CD changer. I've heard that it's bitch to find one that'll work with electronics already present. I'm wondering if anyone knows of any good sites that will help me get started. I'm not even sure what I'll need to have it installed. All I know is that I have the stock am/fm cassette player. Thanks for your help.
Ramy

#2 ·
If it were me I'd get a new AM/FM/CD player and forget about the CD changer. Most new CD players are equipped w/ MP3 decoders and are cheaper than if you bought a new (used) cd player that will work with your factory cassette.

Read a little on this thread:
http://www.bmw-forums.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=31282

#3 ·
da bull offers up none in the above response. A new deck will improve the sound of everything, give you Mp3 and satelite radio options, and cost less than an oem changer.

A few recomendations:
modest budget----> Kenwood KDCMPV5025
no budget----------> Nakamichi CD400

Both are great head units, and both match the oem amber illumination to give it an oem look.

If you are dead set on getting the oem changer the following is everything you wish to know......

Radio Model year/application changer adapter
- ------------ ---------------- --------------- ----------
CM5908 (Alpine) 89-93 E30 6 disk
infrared slot) 89-91 other 88 88 1 600 220
88 881 600 175 82 11 1 467 002
Alpine#TR1600
12 disk
88 88 1 600 178
Alpine#TR1008

KE83zbm (Pioneer) 89-93 E30 CDX-M30 ("M" series) None needed
(+) (-) (Mode) at lower right corner

CM5901(Alpine, 91-94 All CDX-M30 AAMP BMWPIO
Alpine2, Alpine3)

KE91zbm (Pioneer 91-94 All CDX-M30 AAMP BMWPIO
PIO, PIO2,*not PIONEER4*)

KE???? PIONEER4 91-94 All Factory BMW only n/a