Capasitor - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 02-28-2004, 07:52 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Mattitjah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mattitjah is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Mattitjah
(Thread Starter)
Any one know? Any diagrams? I got a 2ch Amp and two subs. Do I need two capasitors? Where do I wire them in?
Mattitjah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 02-28-2004, 08:47 PM
Threadkiller
 
bitcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
bitcore will become famous soon enough bitcore will become famous soon enough
depends on the wattage the amplifier consumes. The general rule is 0.1 farads per 100 W RMS the amplifier is rated for.
To install the cap, you charge it first, then you wire it in-line with the power cable to the amplifier.
It's best if you use one capaciter per amp instead of multiple ones per amp.
Caps come in different sizes. The more farads you have, the more power it's able to push out. If you have a 1,000W amp, you should get a 1 farad capacitor or larger.


bitcore is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 01:50 AM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
I took this pic to show one member where the CD power unit comes from, but you can also see the cap wires in the background.

Basically, the cap has 2 prongs, a + and a -. You connect a ground to the - and run it to the same spot as your amp. On the + terminal, you connect two wires, one from the battery and another to the amp. You can see the red wire coming from the battery and the other red one going to the amp. You also want to mount it within 18 inches of the amp if at all possible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc00928.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	6443  

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 03:28 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Mattitjah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mattitjah is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Mattitjah
(Thread Starter)
OK, I have a hard time making heads or tails of your pic. but you explanation makes sence.
So, pos. from bat. to pos. terminal on cap, then on to pos. suply on amp. Neg. terminal on cap has common ground with amp. Correct? All within 18" of amp(why?).
And I only need one cap since I only got one amp.?
Mattitjah is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 03:33 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Calcartman is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Calcartman Send a message via MSN to Calcartman
The negative terminal of the amp is supposed to be less than 18 inches because:
1. the longer the wire, the larger the voltage drop. Lower voltage means less power to the amplifier.
2. There is no reason not too. The ground can be to almost any metal thing in the car.

Liberalism: The haunting fear that someone, somewhere can take care of themselves.
Calcartman is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 07:22 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
this is what it looks like on my car. its a rough diagram using MS paint.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	capdiagram.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	6448  

Furious is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 11:20 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Any install sheet Ive ever seen clearly states to install the ground at the same point as the amp.

As for that pic, the red wire under the speaker goes to my amp. If you look in the background you can see another red wire and gray wire. Those go to the battery and ground. Ignore the smaller pic in the large one, thats for the CD changer.

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 02-29-2004, 11:23 PM
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Mark, you have the cap's ground installed on the same line as the amp?

<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 03-01-2004, 12:21 AM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
actually yeah it is, the shop said it will be ok and also beef up the ground to the amp or something like that. but i do know what your saying.
everything is in close proximity anyways so im not worried aobut distance.

Furious is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 03-01-2004, 06:39 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Mattitjah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mattitjah is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Mattitjah
(Thread Starter)
Found THIS .
It's the same as what Furious posted.
Mattitjah is offline  
#11 (permalink) Old 03-01-2004, 06:41 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Mattitjah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mattitjah is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Mattitjah
(Thread Starter)
Damn link won't work.
This is the link:
http://www.lightningaudio.com/scripts/late...ed=001001454788
Mattitjah is offline  
#12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2004, 06:42 PM
1st Gear Member
 
Mattitjah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mattitjah is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to Mattitjah
(Thread Starter)
@#^$%&@#$^#$^@^%AAAAAAAAAARGH!!!


(sorry)
Mattitjah is offline  
#13 (permalink) Old 03-01-2004, 06:47 PM
ex owner/admin
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 10,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious Furious
Send a message via AIM to Furious
no worries.

here is what you were looking at, yeah its similar to what i have set up


Furious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome