AutoPage RF-50... - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-13-2007, 08:20 PM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
(Thread Starter)
AutoPage RF-50...

When I bought my car all those years ago...I found an autopage RF-50 brain inside the dash....I don't have a remote....can't find a autopage dealer too close....and I'm pretty sure it doesn't work and that's why the remote was never given to me...

I'd like to pull the brain out and put a new system in......I don't care if the old wireing harness stays in. I'm just scared that the starter will lock or some kind of fail proof will engange if I just yank the brain....


what should I do? can I just pull it out?

thanks!

yammahamma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-13-2007, 08:57 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
It really depends if the previous owner installed a starter kill and which way they wired up the relay. If there is no starter kill relay, your fine, just carefully unhook the wires, tape up wires (or better yet, install your new alarm at that time), and make sure no wires can touch each other or ground.

Real quickly you can just unplug all the molex plugs from the box labelled RF-50, and see if you can start the car, lock the doors, etc. Autopage isnt too bad of an alarm system, we used to sell them at my old shop. The RF-50 is an old one though.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-13-2007, 09:08 PM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_bull
Real quickly you can just unplug all the molex plugs from the box labelled RF-50, and see if you can start the car, lock the doors, etc.

So what do I do if the car won't start? I just want to be prepared before I get stranded...

yammahamma is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-13-2007, 09:24 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
If it wont start, plug everything back in. Then, if you're not familar with relays, you may need to take it to a reputable shop. If you know a little about relays, I can probably walk you through it.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-13-2007, 09:27 PM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
(Thread Starter)
hmmmm......I'll explore some more options before I try that...

thanks for the help...

yammahamma is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 07:08 PM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
(Thread Starter)
I once heard that un-hooking the battery would trigger the starter kill....is that true?

Because I've un-hooked my battery plenty of times without ever messing with RF-50...and never had a problem starting...

am I wrong for thinking that?

yammahamma is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 11:09 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
naw, it should be wired up to only engage whenever the alarm is armed, or I have also done them only when the siren is blaring. neither would have any effect by unhooking battery.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 04-17-2007, 11:26 PM
Festivus yes, bagels no..
 
yammahamma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold yammahamma is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to yammahamma
(Thread Starter)
I'm thinking of tracing the wire from the starter to find the interupt...is there something I should look for?

or is there a better way of going about this?

yammahamma is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 04-18-2007, 07:17 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
start at the steering column. there should be one wire that is cut in half and runs either to a relay, or to the main brain module (I forget if that particular one has it built in or a seperate relay. If it is just a relay, just unplug the two wires (actually one wire cut in half), cut the connectors off and solder the two wires back together.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome