Audio Expertise Needed - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2005, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Car:
Posts: 135
Photos:
nookatee is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to nookatee
Hello audiophiles,
I just bought a head unit for a hundred bucks (mainly because it plays CDs and not much else). I have the wiring harness for my car ('93 325i) and I connected that to the head unit. However...there are two larger gauge black wires coming out of my car that I had no place to connect to the head unit. So... I didn't connect them.
I turned the radio on, but all i got was static. I need some help. They want $60 (at LEAST) to install this thing.
nookatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2005, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CT
Car:
Posts: 20
Photos:
tbhtjd is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to tbhtjd
Did you connect the radio antenna? This is usually a large gray or black cable with a metal male connector on the end.
tbhtjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Car:
Posts: 135
Photos:
nookatee is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to nookatee
OK
here is a picture of the back of the head unit with the Unit's harness installed and the car's harness spliced up.

you'll notice two grey wires and with red and white tips on the left hand side of the picture. These are part of the HU's wiring harness. You'll also notice the two Yellow wires on the right side of the picture with the same tips. Additionally there's a black wire with a VERY DEEP female end. these wires were unused when I put the head unit in. I figured they were auxilliary.

There are two wires coming out of the car that i have issue with.
one is a thicker gauge black one that is part of the CAR-SIDE wire harness, but there is no place for it to attach on the HU' harness. The other is the same gauge and color, but has a circular tip with a little prong in the inside of it. This connects by itself to the bottom left corner of the factory head unit (if you're looking at the back of the head unit as though from inside the DIN port.
Attached Thumbnails
Audio Expertise Needed-head_unit_and_camshafts_003.jpg  
nookatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
You need to go back to the store and ask them for a "BMW antenna adapter" The larger "deep black wire" is your antenna for that radio. BMW's have their own style of antenna lead, and need this adapter, then you wont have static.

The other black wire you talked about is probably your cd changer DIN cord, that won't be used in your new radio. Most BMW's come factory pre-wired for a cd changer.

The little red and white caps you removed need to go back on the yellow/gray wires. These are your RCA leads and will be used if/when you install an amplifier.

Hope that helps....
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Car:
Posts: 135
Photos:
nookatee is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to nookatee
ok, i bought the adapter from tweeter today. I put it into my car...but now my head unit doesn't work. I put the old one back in...and that doesn't work either. What the hell happened??? I hope i only blew a fuse...
nookatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
Check the fuses, does the radio come on and no sound or no lights at all? If you have lights but no sound, you may have damaged your factory amplifier.
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 08:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Car:
Posts: 135
Photos:
nookatee is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to nookatee
nope no lights no sound. Nothing at all. It's like I didn't even push power. I think I'm just going to throw in the towel, admit that I know nothing about car audio, and have Tweeter install it. They gave me a better quote than Best Buy. Hopefully they'll have the fuse i need (if I blew one).

By the way, I love the pic of Farley in your sig. "How many heart attacks does dat make for you?" "That would make da baker's dozen".
nookatee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading the "Business" audio system PCsizmadia 3-Series (E46, E90) 3 11-01-2005 10:05 AM
Diamond Audio Equiptment For Sale!!! Red93B3M2W5i Audio/Miscellaneous Auto Parts 0 09-24-2005 11:56 AM
Audio Dilema - Pls Help hnhan 3-Series (E46, E90) 6 10-07-2004 04:00 PM
Audio Difficulty hkochat 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 3 02-25-2004 10:40 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.