Amplifier ACC Power Source in Trunk - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 07:51 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
95black318i is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation Amplifier ACC Power Source in Trunk

Hello all,
I'm trying to install a powered sub in the trunk of my e36. Since the battery is located in the trunk, it's easy enough to get an "always hot" connection.
What I'm having problems with is getting an "acc/hot" connection, or remote power that is only on when you turn the key.
Does anyone know if there is such a wire that is in the trunk somewhere? There are many wires, but most of these are hot for the lights. I'm not aware of any wire being hot only after I turn the key on.
I removed the left hand side wheel well cover and there were some harnesses but the all looked like they were for the rear lights. Nothing obvious for an optional amp.
The car did have a cd changer, but the only wires that went to the unit were the unilink cable and the rca patch cables.
I am trying to avoid running a wire all the way from the dash out to the trunk!
The car did not have an amp in it so I can't just transfer existing wires.
Any info would be appreciated.
95black318i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 09:04 PM
Ich bin der Modifikator
 
johnnyBgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 3,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough
Garage
Is this an "auto on" amp, you are installing?

______________________________________
_______________________97 E36|Conforti Software|M50 Manifold|AFE|Borla|H&R| Bilstein |Eibach|Rockford|3.15 LSD
____________________________________________http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3129109
johnnyBgood is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 09:23 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
95black318i is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Hi again Johnny,
I hadn't seen this section of Audio and Electronics.
Yes, I'm trying to set up a Basslink. It has a switch for auto on. You can set it for on or off.
Any ideas?
95black318i is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 09:28 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
95black318i is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Hmmm I just read on my manual that if you use the speaker level connections, you dont need to install a remote wire because the amp senses voltage, but if you use the line inputs then you do have to install a remote. I am using the line inputs, but I wonder if I tap into one of the speakers with a simple wire, if it will sense with that. I wonder if the sound will be compromised. Tomorrow I experiment.
95black318i is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 09:32 PM
Ich bin der Modifikator
 
johnnyBgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 3,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough johnnyBgood is a jewel in the rough
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95black318i View Post
Hmmm I just read on my manual that if you use the speaker level connections, you dont need to install a remote wire because the amp senses voltage, but if you use the line inputs then you do have to install a remote. I am using the line inputs, but I wonder if I tap into one of the speakers with a simple wire, if it will sense with that. I wonder if the sound will be compromised. Tomorrow I experiment.
That's exactly why I asked if it was an auto on.......you can splice right into the rear speaker wires......

johnny,

______________________________________
_______________________97 E36|Conforti Software|M50 Manifold|AFE|Borla|H&R| Bilstein |Eibach|Rockford|3.15 LSD
____________________________________________http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3129109
johnnyBgood is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 09:39 PM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
The sound wont be compromised. It just takes a sample of the AC signal and tells the amp to start drawing from the main power wire. The speaker level input is such a high impedance, you rear speakers wont know the difference.



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
#7 (permalink) Old 04-23-2009, 11:45 PM
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
95black318i is on a distinguished road
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for all the help guys.
Do you think it will work if I just splice ONE wire rather than a pair?
95black318i is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 07:30 AM
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Posts: 4,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute da_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
I would do both. The bass information (for the most part) is recorded mono, but I have heard a few tracks that are actually in stereo. I'd hook the other up, especially since you are using it also for a remote lead.

to werkz BTW...



-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amplifier trunk power. 95black318i 3-Series (E36) 2 04-22-2009 06:57 PM
Acc Mortiorchis South East 0 03-22-2005 10:33 AM
WANTED E36 4 DOOR ACC. B3M2W5i Classifieds Sell & Buy 6 07-17-2004 03:17 PM
CORNERING, LAT. ACC. Q_BMW 3-Series (E36) 33 07-01-2004 10:44 PM
acc wire gangstabeemeruk 1,6,7,8 - Series and Mini Cooper 0 10-23-2003 04:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome