Amp installation - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2004, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Ok, so here's my ghetto real quick writeup for an amp install in a non-BMW or BMW with the batt up front.

The first step is to decide where the amp is going. In everything I build, the amp is usually integrated into the design. Amp location is important, as you need to be able to ground the amp securely as well as attach the amp securely.



Once you know where it's going, you need to run the power wire from the battery to the amp. If you cannot find a hole to poke the wire through, you need to drill one.



You should also use a grommet or some for of sealant around the wire to keep it from chaffing.

For methods of routing cables, refer to my other audio DIY. Most cars are the same, and you will either need to pull up or unscrew the trim, then slip the wire underneath. In the case, the glovebox was removed to drill the hole, and the kickpanel as also removed for better access. The door sill trim wasn't removed but rather unscrewed and pulled up to route the cable.

Once the wire is run, connect it to the amp. When using a thick wire, you can flatten it with a hammer to make the amp accept it easier.



Now your positive wire is hooked up. To connect the ground, find a nearby bolt or screw connected directly to the body, and use a ring connector to attach it. Use the same method for the battery. (If you cannot find a bolt to use, then you need to drill a hole and connect it with a screw. Make sure to scrape away any paint to ensure a solid connection.)

Here is a shot of the battery hooked up. Note the ring connector. You will also need to install a fuse holder. You should do this before connecting the wire to the battery.



Now you need to run your RCA/Remote turn-on lead. You can run both down the same side, but it needs to be the opposite side of the car as the battery wire. As a precaution, you can run the turn-on lead on the same side as the battery line, but it rarely causes interferance to run it with the RCAs. Connect these up to the HU (conect the turn-on to the blue/white wire) and connect to the amp. The amp should now turn on when the HU is on.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2004, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
Thanks, then for a stock HU, how do I get audio to the amp?
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
WOT in Reverse
 
jllphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cashville, TN
Car:
Posts: 3,441
Photos:
jllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond reputejllphan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to jllphan
Line level converter. You tap the speaker leads, and are left with a stereo pair of female RCA's to connect an RCA cable from the LLC to the amp.

They cost 12 bucks at the Shack.
__________________
jllphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 09:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
You Can Has A Custom Title!!
 
Slvr e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saratoga, CA
Car: Dinan Stg 1 M3
Posts: 3,867
Photos:
Slvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond reputeSlvr e39 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Slvr e39
Hmmm, I guess I will give installing a shot, not in my bimmer cuz it already has a system, but in my friends 01' GTI. Where is the most common point for brining the power line in from the battery through the firewall? Do I need to patch the hole I make around the wire?
__________________
Dinan Stg 2 Phoenix Yellow M3
Slvr e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Defector
 
El Presidente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Car:
Posts: 5,973
Photos:
El Presidente is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to El Presidente
Hopefully, you can find a spot to route the cable through. Drilling should be the last resort. You'll want to use a grommet (if you can drill a hole big enough to allow one, otherwise you'll want to seal the hole around the wire with a silicon sealer.

I'd get on vwvortex and ask for some firewall entry points.
__________________
<span style='color:gray'><span style='font-family:Courier'>1995 e36 3 Series RIP
1999 e46 3 Series BURN IN HELL
2000 MR-S Roadster= Current</span></span>
El Presidente is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
AMP Power cable! 316i e36 94 Butterfingers Audio and Electronics 1 10-09-2005 08:44 PM
How do you install amp and subs to a stock headunit? t5sesco Audio and Electronics 2 09-16-2005 01:26 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.