AMP connection problem?? - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2005, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
topless_328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, On
Car:
Posts: 108
Photos:
topless_328 is on a distinguished road
AMP connection problem??

So here's the problem. I have no brains when it comes to electronics...I had to remove my sub box (w/ amp) to get to my spare this past weekend....went to install the wires back into the amp again and.....nothing!

The only thing i can think of is that when i first touched the power cord to the amp, the negitive and positives, were lined up wrong, b/c i heard a crack from the contact. So i flipped it around so that it plugged in correctly, finished connecting the inputs and such, and.....nothing!

Anyone got some tips for me? I didn't think this was such a big deal, but now i'm pi$$ed.

PS. The system is a single Rockford Fosgate P3 10 in. on a 400 W Presion Power AMP, and yes...a restrictive stock deck.

Thanks
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Mike



-Automotive Engineer in Training-
topless_328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2005, 05:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
if the amp was installed by a reputable dealer, check by the battery (within 18"), there should be a fuse holder and i'll bet that fuse is blown. the crack you hear may have been from the internal capacitors charging and thats normal. good luck and post results if that doesnt work.

hope that helps...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
topless_328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, On
Car:
Posts: 108
Photos:
topless_328 is on a distinguished road
That makes sense. I'll give it a try

Thanks
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Mike



-Automotive Engineer in Training-
topless_328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
topless_328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto, On
Car:
Posts: 108
Photos:
topless_328 is on a distinguished road
So it turns out it was the fuse. Only one problem still...the sub's working, but defintly not hitting as hard as it used to. It used to rattle my licence place cover like crasy, and now i got nothing.

Is it possible that the bridge was disconnected. Its a 2 channel 200W that i had bridged to make 400. I've checked all the settings on the amp, and they're exaclty how they were before all this happened.

Just in case it has anything to do with anything.....i have the system running with a seperate sub-bass control knob...?...

Help me out!

Thanks
__________________
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Mike



-Automotive Engineer in Training-
topless_328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erratic Idle / Misfire / Cutting out makdolby 3-Series (E36) 12 02-05-2012 07:57 AM
5 series head unit to amp question. Non DSP greenwave 5-Series (E12,E28, E34, E39, E60) 6 06-28-2007 10:23 PM
Smg Problem On 330i johanfunsale 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 02-28-2005 07:33 AM
Car stereo connection problem? Wise_Owl 3-Series (E21, E30) 1 07-07-2004 01:12 AM
Car stereo connection problem :( Wise_Owl Audio and Electronics 1 07-06-2004 11:34 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.