Aftermarket CD install question - BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com
BMW Forum BMW Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Audio and Electronics The place to go to discuss sound systems and show off your I.C.E. along with security systems and radar detectors too!

BimmerWerkz.com is the premier BMW Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2007, 03:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jhawth1 is on a distinguished road
Aftermarket CD install question

I have a 1995 318IS and decided to replace the stereo in it. I have put aftermarket speakers in and re wired them. I purchased the antena adaptor but now have no radio? the Stock antenna has 2 wires going to the factory deck and the adaptor I purchased only has one leaving the 2nd small wire hanging. Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks in advance
jhawth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2007, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
there are actually 2 antennas in your car. while you travel down the road, the factory radio would choose which antenna is stronger and use it. It samples like 10 times per second or something like that. you dont need the second antenna lead, just tape it off so it doesnt touch anything.

if you still have your factory radio, plug it back in with only the larger of the two antennas and see if it works. tune it to a local AM station. the only reason I say AM is you can pick up some FM stations without an antenna, but you HAVE to have a working antenna to pick up AM.

see what happens there and lemme know...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 06:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jhawth1 is on a distinguished road
Tried

I taped off the smaller of the two and still nothing? Maybe the adapter I bought is defective. Thanks for the quick response. I will see if a new adapter fixes the issue. I just read on the net that the car may have a factory antenna booster that i need to feed power to. Does anyone know which wire that might be?

Thanks again

Last edited by jhawth1; 04-28-2007 at 06:59 AM.
jhawth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 07:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
n00b
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Car:
Posts: 7
Photos:
jhawth1 is on a distinguished road
Man I Am An Idiot

OK so as soon as I hooked up the power to the antenna booster it all worked perfect DOH! Thanks again for the earlier advice :-)
jhawth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
da_administrator
 
da_bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mooooossouri
Car: Its slow, gotta M20 in it
Posts: 4,840
Photos:
da_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond reputeda_bull has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to da_bull
no prob, enjoy your tunes...
__________________


-There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary, and those who do not.

-If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under...Ronald Reagan
da_bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  BMW Forum - BimmerWerkz.com > General Category > Audio and Electronics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ipod Install Question swood22 3-Series (E46, E90) 0 06-01-2005 03:51 PM
Question About Aftermarket Headunit... willum Audio and Electronics 2 02-05-2005 01:19 PM
Aftermarket Hu Install Help... bitchincamaro Audio and Electronics 1 12-27-2004 11:08 PM
Another E39 aftermarket H/U install.....SOS! Endangered Beatz Audio and Electronics 6 05-31-2004 10:26 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.